We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be returning...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will definitely be returning...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was my first trip to New York and loved every second. Hotel was in a fantastic location and staff friendly and helpful. Special mention to the young man on the door (wears glasses, not sure of his name sorry) who always went out of his way to help us, especially with hailing taxi's!
Room was cleaned everyday, toiletries and coffee making facilities provided and also a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Also liked that there was a choice of pillows, firm or soft :)

Will definitely be returning... Thankyou for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hello Clair K,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are ecstatic to hear that your time in our great city and hotel was an amazing one. We post all reviews from Tripadvisor for all our staff to view and they were so filled with joy when they saw your comments about your stay. Thank you so much!!! It has made our day!!! Please come visit us again if you ever find yourself returning to NYC, we would love to have you here. From all of us at the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden we again say thank you, safe travels!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    904
    306
    72
    61
See reviews for
625
531
133
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express March 6-7 to attend a Big East basketball game at Madison Square Garden - great location. Staff was very friendly and accomodating - they even stored our luggage after we checked-out so we could see a matinee show before heading home - nice breakfast in lobby! Although room was somewhat small, beds and pillows were very comfortable - an alarm clock or a little fridge would of been nice to have in the room. Valet parking was $40 + tax for 24 hrs. Although there is not a restaurant in the hotel, there are many close by. Would definately stay here again when attending an event at MSG.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h0ckeylaxandcheerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing with everyone your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden, we’re happy that to see that your time in our hotel was a good one. We’re glad to learn that our location was convenient for your trip; having fans stay in our hotel is always exciting. We really would love for you to visit us again if you ever find yourself returning to the “big apple” By next year, you’ll probably experience our new décor, and we think you’ll love it. Thank you again for sharing with us and everyone, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe-Claire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is located at the best location for anyone who like to spend good time in midtown Manhatan...perfect distance from Time Square for a healthy walk after diner, close enough to Tribeca, Greenwhich village and Union Square for a great shopping experience. Dont miss outstanding stores like Allsaints Splitafields for great clothes, or Eddy Fish for exclusive dishes to bring baack home. The hotel is very clean, rooms are big enough for a Manhatan hotel, breakfast area is very well lit and roomy as well as the terrace outside which is great if you prefer to have breakfast outside...this is my ew favrotie hotel in Manhatan for now,,,better than the one on 5th I think...

Room Tip: upper floors of course, the 2 elevators are doing a great job! not a lot of time for waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michel_josee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hello Michel_Josee,
What a fantastic review!!! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of our great city and hotel. Our team is really happy that your time with us was a pleasant one. We love the way you give advice to future guest, and how they can enjoy themselves while here in the “Big Apple”. We thank you again for your awesome review, and we hope that we get to service you in the near future, till next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent 4 nights at this Holiday Inn 27th Feb - 2nd March. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and always well stocked. Room is small, however the time spent in the room was minimal therefore not a problem. the bed was a king size and very comfortable.. room was cleaned daily and was spotless. It was our first visit to NYC for our 20th wedding anniversary on the 29th February. It is close to Madison square garden and Penn Street station, if you are traveling from Newark airport it makes easy transfer to the CIty. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Hello Morris28_11,
Thank you…Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience with us and everyone in the Tripadvisor community. You have touched everyone in our team with your words, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your time at our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden and in our great city. We are also happy to learn that your 20th anniversary was an excellent one. Please feel free to contact us if you ever want to discuss your experience, we will be more than happy to be of service for you. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Very nice property with clean, well maintained rooms. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. This hotel is only a five minute walk from Penn Station and a quick walk to the subway so a quite convenient location. Very good price in comparison to other similar hotels near times square and on the west side.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beentherejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear beentherejohn,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden. We are happy that your enjoyed the convenience of our location. Our location is perfect if you’re here for business or pleasure, thank you for sharing that little “nugget” with everyone in the Tripadvisor community. We hope you get to experience our Holiday Inn Express hotel whenever you find yourself returning to NYC. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope we get to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#334 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $248 - $488
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea hotel located right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast for all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing