We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room but let down poorly by lack of service”
Review of The London NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The London NYC
Ranked #164 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful room but let down poorly by lack of service”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was very excited to stay at The London hotel as the pictures on the website looked amazing. I paid $700 for a room and I have to say it was a lovely room (at first site) and also amazingly large by New York standards as there was a separate bedroom, separate dressing area where I could put my clothes and suitcases away, a rather large bathroom with separate bath tub and shower and also a very big sitting area. I found though that whilst the room looked incredibly chi chi and elegant, it was not very practical. I have rated the room very good for its size. The chaise lounge looked nice but was not great to recline on. What really let this hotel down though was the lack of service. Room service took ages to materialise and housekeeping was really not up to scratch for the money that I paid. For example, I had a glass of red wine on my first night and 4 days later the dirty red wine glass was still on the bar and hadn't been taken away by housekeeping. I had rubbish which wasn't taken away by housekeeping when they cleaned the room. I found front desk to be amazingly unhelpful and the concierge to be uninterested. I called management to try to have these problems rectified but they were not very responsive. The doorman never offered to help with suitcases or with my bags and there was no friendly greeting that you would get from say, the Shangri-la in Singapore when you walked into the hotel even after a few days staying there. I was very disappointed with my stay at The London and would recommend it as a poor choice for a stay in New York due to the lack of service and attention to detail all round.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    877
    275
    121
    88
See reviews for
722
1,322
145
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The room was great and the service was excellent. Great facilities and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just got back from a four night stay here. Great position, lovely spacious room, nice and quiet. Staff on reception were excellent. Like previous comments I would only add that there is nowhere to sit and wait. We ended up choosing to go ahead with our journey to the airport and sit there for an hour more! It would be great to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Thought 32$ for two cups of tea in the morning (room service) was a little steep. The cocktail bar was a little disappointing. Staff, with the exception of a female member, were sullen and disinterested and the place looks tired. A visit to the restroom clearly indicated it hadn't been serviced, overflowing bin and no toilet paper and that was early evening!! Fortunately they have more than one. Overall the experience was good, I would stay there again the rooms are delightful, loved the decor and double shower. Bed so comfy thinking I need to change mine at home. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The London… in New York? Is there a New York in London? This is a great choice for a nearly 5 Star property that offers a perfect location for those venturing to the theater every night, without wanting to stay in the fray and hassle of Times Square. I only wish I could love this hotel, instead of really liking it.

Is it perfect? No. Is it a lovely hotel with spacious accommodations with posh interiors? Definitely. I only wish this fine property would up the service and luxury aspect to make this a must-stay New York hotel.

The rooms are the main selling point here—they are very large for any city. Most are suites, if not all. The décor is seemingly understated contemporary. Unfortunately, the “for looks only” living room furniture is poorly made and totally uncomfortable. I could also call it “cheap.” There is also not enough lighting anywhere except the bathroom in this hotel room. It is as if they forgot lighting or someone stole the lamps. This is not acceptable for a supposedly 5 star hotel. Dimmers good. Dark bad.

The bed is comfortable, if not luxurious. Unlike other luxury hotels, you will not crawl in the bed and be taken to a land of “I wish my bed felt this good.” The televisions are also incredibly small. Tiny.

The bathroom was nicely laid out and we really appreciated the double person shower.
As far as service it is friendly, not polished. There is also a feeling that there is no manager on duty—I have no idea if there is, but that is the feeling.

We also had a problem with cigarette smoke in our non-smoking room. On two of our three mornings we had a definite smell of cigarettes being pumped into our ventilation. I called both mornings and was informed that several other people called, but that “this happens sometime.” Not good.

Then there is breakfast and the lobby restaurant. Our deal from Amex came with breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast room and offering at The London reeks of low effort and has the presentation of a Marriott. The service is also just standard – at best. Several guests around us were upset with their service and lack of it. The manager also seemed completely incompetent. The food was fine—for the Hilton across the street, and the café itself (doubles for the bar) is worn and in need of a minor makeover. The vinyl on the banquettes should have been replaced a few years ago. The menu is also very limited, and makes you feel they really just want you to get the mediocre buffet laid out on the bar. Yes, it was free. But it was not special in any way.

So, there, that’s The London in New York. If you demand a 5 star property that delivers New York luxury effectively and with all pistons firing – this isn’t for you. But, if you want a perfectly located hotel that is just far enough from Times Square so you can walk to the theater, but not stay there – this is for you. It’s also a great choice for those seeking room size over luxury. I would stay again, but if someone else was paying, and price was no issue – there are 5 star hotels that deliver much more service, luxury and detail to attention.

Room Tip: High floor, or facing the park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The London was once my favorite hotel in NY with its spacious rooms, excellent location, very good food and outstanding service. The rooms and the location are still attractive, but the service and restaurant experiences during our last visit were not very good. To be fair, whenever we complained about a service issue, the hotel tried to address it. Unfortunately, a lot of small issues piled up faster than we had the energy to deal with. Examples: housekeeping took away all the soap and the shower cap without replacing them; four used towels (for three people) were taken but replaced with only two; the room charge on the final bill was wrong; there were rarely newspapers available on our floor or at our door in the morning. Somewhat more discouraging was the truly awful service we had at afternoon tea. The server forgot our order until reminded, so it took 30 minutes to arrive. When we requested a refill of hot water, it took another 25 minutes just to get hot water. It was impossible to get her attention to get the bill because she was too busy chatting with another server, so we finally just left payment on the table. One other problem was that there was work being performed on the building, and no mention of this was made until after we checked in. Starting at 8 am each weekday morning, there was extremely loud drilling noise in the room that lasted for hours. It was impossible to sleep or even talk on the phone for most of the day due to the noise levels. I sincerely hope the London can address the service problems that detract from an otherwise wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Property: The London NYC
Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019-5302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#80 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $405 - $1,016
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 561
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "Best of" and "Top 10 lists", you'll find detailed design, attentive service and The London Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing