We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The London NYC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Blakely New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wellington Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Carnegie Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
WestHouse Hotel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Manhattan Club(New York City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Warwick New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,777)
Filter reviews
3,777 results
Traveller rating
2,180
975
350
153
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,180
975
350
153
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showervista suitegordon ramsaycentral parkfrench doorslondon barnew yorkdressing arearoom serviceliving areatimes squarerooms are hugesitting roomcarnegie hallconcierge servicefifth avenueflat screen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,574 - 2,579 of 3,777 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The room was great and the service was excellent. Great facilities and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just got back from a four night stay here. Great position, lovely spacious room, nice and quiet. Staff on reception were excellent. Like previous comments I would only add that there is nowhere to sit and wait. We ended up choosing to go ahead with our journey to the airport and sit there for an hour more! It would be great to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Thought 32$ for two cups of tea in the morning (room service) was a little steep. The cocktail bar was a little disappointing. Staff, with the exception of a female member, were sullen and disinterested and the place looks tired. A visit to the restroom clearly indicated it hadn't been serviced, overflowing bin and no toilet paper and that was early evening!! Fortunately they have more than one. Overall the experience was good, I would stay there again the rooms are delightful, loved the decor and double shower. Bed so comfy thinking I need to change mine at home. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The London… in New York? Is there a New York in London? This is a great choice for a nearly 5 Star property that offers a perfect location for those venturing to the theater every night, without wanting to stay in the fray and hassle of Times Square. I only wish I could love this hotel, instead of really liking it.

Is it perfect? No. Is it a lovely hotel with spacious accommodations with posh interiors? Definitely. I only wish this fine property would up the service and luxury aspect to make this a must-stay New York hotel.

The rooms are the main selling point here—they are very large for any city. Most are suites, if not all. The décor is seemingly understated contemporary. Unfortunately, the “for looks only” living room furniture is poorly made and totally uncomfortable. I could also call it “cheap.” There is also not enough lighting anywhere except the bathroom in this hotel room. It is as if they forgot lighting or someone stole the lamps. This is not acceptable for a supposedly 5 star hotel. Dimmers good. Dark bad.

The bed is comfortable, if not luxurious. Unlike other luxury hotels, you will not crawl in the bed and be taken to a land of “I wish my bed felt this good.” The televisions are also incredibly small. Tiny.

The bathroom was nicely laid out and we really appreciated the double person shower.
As far as service it is friendly, not polished. There is also a feeling that there is no manager on duty—I have no idea if there is, but that is the feeling.

We also had a problem with cigarette smoke in our non-smoking room. On two of our three mornings we had a definite smell of cigarettes being pumped into our ventilation. I called both mornings and was informed that several other people called, but that “this happens sometime.” Not good.

Then there is breakfast and the lobby restaurant. Our deal from Amex came with breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast room and offering at The London reeks of low effort and has the presentation of a Marriott. The service is also just standard – at best. Several guests around us were upset with their service and lack of it. The manager also seemed completely incompetent. The food was fine—for the Hilton across the street, and the café itself (doubles for the bar) is worn and in need of a minor makeover. The vinyl on the banquettes should have been replaced a few years ago. The menu is also very limited, and makes you feel they really just want you to get the mediocre buffet laid out on the bar. Yes, it was free. But it was not special in any way.

So, there, that’s The London in New York. If you demand a 5 star property that delivers New York luxury effectively and with all pistons firing – this isn’t for you. But, if you want a perfectly located hotel that is just far enough from Times Square so you can walk to the theater, but not stay there – this is for you. It’s also a great choice for those seeking room size over luxury. I would stay again, but if someone else was paying, and price was no issue – there are 5 star hotels that deliver much more service, luxury and detail to attention.

Room Tip: High floor, or facing the park side.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The London was once my favorite hotel in NY with its spacious rooms, excellent location, very good food and outstanding service. The rooms and the location are still attractive, but the service and restaurant experiences during our last visit were not very good. To be fair, whenever we complained about a service issue, the hotel tried to address it. Unfortunately, a lot of small issues piled up faster than we had the energy to deal with. Examples: housekeeping took away all the soap and the shower cap without replacing them; four used towels (for three people) were taken but replaced with only two; the room charge on the final bill was wrong; there were rarely newspapers available on our floor or at our door in the morning. Somewhat more discouraging was the truly awful service we had at afternoon tea. The server forgot our order until reminded, so it took 30 minutes to arrive. When we requested a refill of hot water, it took another 25 minutes just to get hot water. It was impossible to get her attention to get the bill because she was too busy chatting with another server, so we finally just left payment on the table. One other problem was that there was work being performed on the building, and no mention of this was made until after we checked in. Starting at 8 am each weekday morning, there was extremely loud drilling noise in the room that lasted for hours. It was impossible to sleep or even talk on the phone for most of the day due to the noise levels. I sincerely hope the London can address the service problems that detract from an otherwise wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atw100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at London for 3 nights and even though there was construction around the hotel, as some guests have pointed out, we didn't have any complaints (although we did ask for a quiet room when we first checked in). Room was spacious and modern and staff were generally very helpful. Location is fantastic, close to 5th Ave, Times Square and also walking distance from Central Park. Also close to several subway stations. The continental buffet breakfast has an okay selection (bagels, toast, cold meats, yogurt, cereal), nothing too fancy but sufficient. They also have a decent size gyms with several cardio machines and weights as well as a punching bag!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm_travel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews