We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small on size Big on character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
Ranked #290 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Friendly staff, modern digs, clean up to date bathroom w nice toiletries. Starbucks lobby side. Nice boutique hotel, great location, frequent traveler. Sure to please, great value

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Suzen G,
Thank you for such a 'on point' description of our propery. We hope that as a frequent traveler, you will frequent Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue often. In addition to your description: We're also a highly competitive business and we want yours. Whenever you plan to return, please feel free to contact the hotel and/or myself personally.
Yours truly,
Gary Mark DeSoiza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 482 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel w/my sister. We traveled to NYC to see a few sporting events/sight see/enjoy the city. It wasn't our first time in New York and the hotel we had stayed at before and loved was a little over our budget this time around. I had shopped around before booking with this hotel but was immediately glad that I did, especially after we checked in. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they are new looking and extremely clean. Wifi was complimentary, as was a continental breakfast from the Oxford Cafe next door which was pretty good. Also had TV with a full set of channels. Housekeeping staff was extremely friendly--they will change your bedding everyday if you want, unless you'd prefer to stay 'green' in which case they'll only just set your bed. The front desk staff was friendly as well during check in, and there is an express check out option which lets you check out over their phone system so you can just leave when you're done with your stay. Its location is also pretty perfect--not too close to all the hustle/bustle of the Times Square/Empire state area, but close enough to those places to walk to. Over all, the hotel is small but again, service was great, location was great and the price was right. I would definitely stay there again for a weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Sarah K,
Boston is not very far from us. So I hope that you, your friends and your family return and stay with us again. We really appreciate the oustanding review that you posted on Trip Advisor. Please feel free to contact us next time you planning a trip back to NYC.
Sincerely,
Gary Mark DeSoiza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I spent three nights at this hotel in late March, 2012. I had a special rate of $150 a night (plus the usual rip off NYC taxes). My room was small but perfectly suitable for one person, and was clean and modern, with high definition TV and free wifi. I could hear no street noise. I am very familiar with NYC so was not looking for tourist assistance but the friendly staff is available if needed.
The location is as convenient as any in the city, with shops and restaurants near by, and proximity to bus and subway. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and fussy about lots of space, call the hotel and ask about a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleTomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you SeattleTomf!
I'm really happy to hear that you considered us a good value and appreciated our service. We try to provide you with the things that our guests appreciate like the free/fast wifi, complimentary coffee/tea/bottled water and a continental breakfast (danish or New York bagel) when you book directly through our website. Our rooms are often considered to be small (170sqft), although I have seen smaller in other NYC properties, but our upgrade to a larger queen (190 sqft) is generally only $10 more per night. It's true that our location can't be beat. Our location on 5th Avenue puts you smack in the middle of the East and West Side's of Manhattan and our access to every neighbood by subway is unparalled. Thank you so much for your outstanding review. I hope that you will stay with us again and again.
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Took my teenage daughter to NYC for spring break. We found this hotel on tripadvisor and booked through Getaroom.com (on the phone and got unadvertised pricing). The room was small...but very clean with a very comfortable bed, well supplied bathroom, and a desk and coffee maker. The wifi worked well and the friendly staff at the front desk let me print out my boarding passes. The Starbucks downstairs is a nice feature, too. But it was all about location! A few blocks to the subway (the 6) and a nice walk to the Library, Herald Square, Bryant Park, 5th ave shops and Times Square! The Empire State building is across the street. A $15 taxi will get you all the way downtown to Wall st and the Staten Island Ferry...less to get up to Central Park. I took the advice from another review and asked for a room without an air conditioner that blows on the bed. They assign rooms around noon so call and ask. All in all a very secure and comfortable stay!

Room Tip: Call ahead by noon on the day of arrival for a room with out AC blowing on head of bed (avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you Sara P!
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for having such nice things to say about us. We always try to offer a great experience. Our location, access to transportation and our Staff makes it easy. I want to encourage you to save the $15 you spent in the taxi next time you return. The B,D,N,R subway lines are one block away on the West Side of 5th Avenue. The N/R will take you all the way downtown and the B/D will take you to Columbus Circle and the Central Park West entrance to Central Park. From there you can walk East or North East to the Central Park Zoo, Wollman's Skating Rink or the Metropolitan Museum. You can walk north to The Great Lawn, the ballfields, or the Museum of Natural History and Rose Space center.
Thanks for the Tip you shared on our A/C units. We're working on a solution to replace some of the less desireable placements, but your right: You can call us anytime to discuss you prefernces and our staff is happy to assist.
Thanks Again!
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Lovely clean hotel. The room was a little on the small side but I expected this in New York. Location on 5th Avenue is perfect - literally two blocks from the Empire State Building and 34th St shopping. What makes this hotel so special is the staff - everyone from the Receptionists to the Cleaners were welcoming and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to others and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_paler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdesoiza, General Manager at U Hotel Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you h_paler! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff. You really can't beat our location. Fifth Avenue is at our Doorstep and as you said, we're "literally two blocks from the Empire State Building and 34th Street Shopping". You can walk to Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, or take the subway to any other part of the city. The subway is one block away. Our rooms are the perfect size for a good night's rest and as a previous guest said "small but it works".
We hope that you will return and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#274 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 470 in New York City
637 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#374 of 470 in New York City
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#233 of 470 in New York City
220 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#245 of 470 in New York City
419 reviews
The Evelyn
#284 of 470 in New York City
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Hotel Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Hotel Fifth Avenue

Address: 373 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3307
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Hotel Fifth Avenue 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe boutique hotel on world-famous Fifth Avenue. The hotel features 70 queen-bedded rooms in a sleek contemporary design. We are located at 35th and Fifth Avenue. All rooms feature free WiFi, bathrobes, I-pod docks, on-site Starbucks. Across from the Empire State Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your U Hotel Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
373 Hotel New York City
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing