We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Restaurant ..excellent Vibe !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 50
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
london
Level Contributor
375 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant ..excellent Vibe !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Visited Buddakan as part of a party of 5 for my daughters 21st birthday bash and have to say it didn't disappoint. Its very misleading as you arrive outside and once you open the main door to a vast cavern of a place.The desk staff were very helpful with coats etc and we were led to a busy bar until our table was ready ( we were early !) The younger members of our party were very impressed with the cocktails on offer ! We were then led to the large wooden informal dining table downstairs which was at first a disappointment as i had asked for a private table.However it did not spoil our night. No need to go into the asian/fusion food menu as im sure you are all well aware suffice to say every dish was delicious and served with a smile..If you are visiting i would have no hesitation recommending Buddakan..A great place !!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,706
    1,132
    333
    101
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown Pa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our second visit to this restaurant and have also been to the one in Philadelphia. This is everything I look for in a restaurant. The decor is amazing and the atmosphere can be bustling to intimate and quiet depending on where you are in the restaurant. We had Lobster egg rolls and the scallion pancakes as appetizers, and they were both really tasty with the scallion pancakes being amazing in taste and texture. For a main course, I had the Mongolian Lamb and my wife had the sweet and crispy shrimp. We had the Lobster rice and the green stir fry veggies, which all were very good.

The service was really friendly and everything seems to operate here like a well oiled machine, yet you feel well taken care of. A must in New York dinning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Buddakan is a MUST-DO in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have been to Buddakan about 10 times and tried different dishes every time. I have always had amazing service, tasty and memorable meals, and a fantastic experience. Make a reservation if you can, as it always gets busy no matter the day of the week. When you get there, try to be a little early so you can enjoy a drink at the bar. If you say it's your birthday, you'll get a special dessert without people singing happy birthday (the usually embarrassing part). I will go back again and again. Make sure to go if you're looking for a trendy NYC design/stylish-like restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis-Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Interior & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We enjoyed dining here. The restaurant interior design is wonderful...wish we had been in the front of the restaurant but it was still very nice in the red room. We loved the crispy duck salad, the lobster rolls, lobster fried rice and chinese five spice chicken were very good too. The butterscotch bread pudding was delicious!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful place that can ruin your ears”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A beautiful restaurant with excellent food
Why destroy this adventure with noise?
Beer is The drink to match this food
Please inform the owner, the beerselection sucks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilotbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing