We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New York City's Official Visitor Information Center
Open today: 11:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Short trip but lots of frustration. Moral of story - plan ahead!

I visited NYC recently with friends and did not have high expectations for visiting a lot of sites... read more

Reviewed 24 July 2018
jet59or
,
PDX
Very helpfuel.

It was very east to get the information you need to know, the helpdesk was kind, the location was... read more

Reviewed 7 August 2018
Mahmoud A
,
egypt
Read all 50 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around New York City
from USD 69.00
More Info
from USD 149.00
More Info
from USD 57.00
More Info
from USD 43.00
More Info
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
18
4
1
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
4
1
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

It was very east to get the information you need to know, the helpdesk was kind, the location was easy to reach.

Thank Mahmoud A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I visited NYC recently with friends and did not have high expectations for visiting a lot of sites, but would have liked to have seen a few things more completely. We stayed in UES so easy to get to and explore park. Even rented bikes for a while. Signing up for bikes was not easy/quick on a phone but once signed up it was fine. We used Citi Bikes, but there are other options - just plan ahead!

Signage/directions were lacking. The 9/11 museum area in particular. Lots of wasted time just getting to the site (out of Westfield Mall area was particularly frustrating). Signage was horrible. Ticket machines were broken for museum once we finally got there, but turns out line was too long and we ran out of time. The line attendant told us to buy online. So again, planning ahead helps! The memorial pools were very moving and not too crowded.

Finally got some good directions from a wonderful police officer, starting from the subway station at bottom of Central Park. Unfortunately both of THEIR ticket machines were broken too and no attendants! That's not the sort of thing you can do only at the moment, so walking down fifth Ave looking for another station wasted a lot of time.

We figured next time we would Uber/taxi around and let drivers help us out.

Wonderful people, wonderful food, just not easy to get around without lots of planning and/or assistance.

1  Thank jet59or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Always been a dream of mine to visit New York City and was lucky enough to spend a week there nearly 2 years a go. What a week, the famous attractions like Liberty, Brookly bridge, Empire State, Central Park and so on an on an on are all sensational in there very own unique ways, the simplicity of buying a slice of pizza or hot dog on the street is nothing like just buying a slice, it always involves some sought of entertainment from just the fact your on the streets of NYC. The whole buzz and vibe of NYC is something you can’t describe with words, it’s a thing you just have to experience. There’s not a part of the free world that hasn’t influenced NYC in some way , which just helps to make the most amazingly incredible fun eye opening part of this planet. Going back later this year and can’t wait , absolutely love New York City

Thank OzTiger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

A tour on the history of rockfeller center to avoid.
A tour on the base and outside the premises with information easily finding in any tourist guide.
Only for spend time waiting to visit the top of the building.

Thank Samuel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Sadly, our NYC vacation is over. Had a great time thanks to the Visitor's Information Center. They provided great advises for things to do and where to eat.

Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Being our first time in New York, we went to the visitor center to gather some information. The lady who gave us advice was so nice and helpful. She took time to talk about the different attraction, gave us some special tips according to what we liked to do. Make sure you stop there before starting visiting New York because they give really good advice!!

3  Thank UpsidownEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

No longer there ! It is not located at 810 between 52-53st where is it nobody knows !dhshsshshxhshshxhzbzbzbzhzbzbzbzbsbzbzbzzbbzbzbzbzzbsnz

1  Thank antonyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Just explored new York City myself went to my art museum metropolitan museum of art n time square n new York public library

Thank Ntia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Closed - was told it going though renovation and will reopen in about 6 months. Was advised to visit the NYC Information Center located in Macys on 34th street.

1  Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

If you plan a visit to New York City, the New York City's Office is a great place to start. Contact them ahead of time to get a wealth of information to plan your visit.

3  Thank JesusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews