We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable Stay!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at the Rivington with my daughter for Mother's day weekend. When we arrived I was a bit shocked because it didn't look like a hotel when we first walked in and no one mentioned the lobby would be on the second floor. But all of my worries went away once I checked in because the front desk staff was very friendly and cool.

They managed to offer us an early check in. I was shocked to see the size of the room and all of the closet space. The views from the large windows were amazing. And the beds were the most comfortable I've EVER slept in.

One of the highlights of our trip was the Mother's Day Brunch at the hotel's restaurant. Besides the amazing food and atmosphere, the restaurant manager Michelle is what made it truly memorable. I've never felt so genuinely welcomed at any restaurant before. She gave me a beautiful rose and couldn't have been more helpful, suggesting dishes and cocktails. I decided on the salt fish trio with guava champagne and my daughter had the dulce leche french toast and rum punch. Everything we had was delicious! Michelle is someone who has an obvious passion for what she does and that is so refreshing!

Overall we had an excellent stay and I will continue to brag about it until I my next trip. The extra effort on hospitality makes all the difference.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend Rivington!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YLC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    339
    110
    63
    44
See reviews for
109
524
86
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The views were great and the rooms were comfortable, clean and very modern, however the internet service is poor, cabs are virtually impossible to hail and the doormen aren't very helpful if they are present. It can also be very noisy on a Friday or Saturday night, if you are one not to enjoy the LES nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jad311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

overnight stay this past saturday night. our son lives in the area and we come to visit occasionally. my feeling is the lodging component of this enterprise is not the first priority. the site is certainly ground zero for the young/party crowd and for them this hotel is the place to be.
the ground floor/entry area is chaotic at best. i had to look for the valet to park the car and to this day my wife is not sure the guy worked there. (he did, although he had to find someone to drive the car because of the manual transmission).
i had booked a high floor (9th-20th floor) corner king with balcony. we were "upgraded" to a two room suite with a large terrace on the 7th floor. the room would of been fine if we were rock stars and having a roof top party. the terrace overlooked rivington street which parties all night. i didn't fall asleep until FAT BABY closed at ~4am.
the rooms were nice, it was a two bedroom suite with two very nice bathrooms and pocket doors to close off the bedrooms from the living room. more than what my wife and i needed, or wanted. the beds were great, although the curtains did not close completely in either bedroom. the tracks need to be replaced.
also, security is an issue. the entry area is wide open to the street (the reception is on the second floor) and the elevators are easily accessible to anyone. their is minimal staff presence.
for the price i would recommend the bowery hotel, just a short distance away. they understand they are a hotel first and a hot spot for the young and beautiful second.

Room Tip: nothing on the rivington street side of the hotel unless your on a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wccDelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

this is not a business hotel by any means. internet connection is appalling and drops in and out constantly. service very very patchy in the bar. no food on a sunday evening served. location is out of way, cabs are virtually impossible to hail and the doormen aren't hugely helpful. rooms are very sparse, not especially well appointed, mine faced into a back yard of a bar which was very noisy. needs a good deal of work to justify the price. avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conners37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Location to happening lower east side/Williamsburg bridge couldn't be better for either shopping, eating or late night bar scene. Well designed and appointed bedroom including the perfect bathroom combination steam/shower/soaking tub space. What doesn't the place have? Enough Trained staff. Only one person at front desk. Left on hold to receptionist for way too long. Two security doormen but no one to really help you with bags etc. Great glass structure but windows need cleaning. Upper roof deck with views to shot movie scenes from but if you can't walk steep steps your out if luck. Loved the Rice krispie treat for bedtime nibble.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivypivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Sago Hotel
Sago Hotel
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Property: Hotel on Rivington
Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $323 - $688
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing