We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service!”
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
Ranked #152 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the rivington for 5 nights, during this time there was very little interaction with the staff as the lobby is on the 2nd floor, so we were not told that breakfast was included in our price , so we never ate breakfast there.When we checked out the girl on the desk processed my credit card without letting me look at the bill , when I went to sign I noticed she had charged us an extra $135 for the minibar which we did not use! When I told her she grudgingly refunded me, now back in Australia and I notice they have taken a further$135 off my credit card without my permission. I have emailed them twice with no reply.and called twice, I am pretty upset about this.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the corner room with a soaking tub
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel on Rivington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 806 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Everything was amazing, but I'll start with the service.... which was exceptional. From the concierge who greeted us, to the 5 or 6 times we needed something we forgot to pack, the staff was standing by to serve us. The entrance to the hotel captures the essence of NYC with their modern design and nightclub adjacent to hotel lobby. Checking-in was handled in 2 minutes at most as opposed to under-staffed front desks which make you wait on-line as they are on the phone.

Our room was simply MAGNIFICENT, and I urge any couple who is staying here to upgrade to the "King with soaking tub." The view we had on the 15th floor was amazing and having a skyline view in the shower plus a balcony made it worthwhile.

The layout of the room was great with a contemporary couch and coffee table set-aside from the plush King-size bed (which was very comfortable). We didn't use the bath, but the rest of the bathroom was spacious as there were something like 8 different mirrors and more than enough towels available. (which is an area where most hotels fall short)

I can't get over how fast the room-service was. The breakfast was brought up 15 floors in less than 10 minutes. I was impressed by how great the coffee tasted and the blueberry pancakes were "out of this world."

It was very convenient to have the nightclub right next-door. After dinner we took advantage of this and it was just great to be able to have a few drinks in a club rather than an average hotel bar.

We checked out about 1 hour after check-out time and the staff was not pushy in this regard. We were also accommodated by them allowing us to keep our bags in the hotel until 6:00pm, 6 hours after checkout.

What more can I say? It was a great stay and I will be coming back the next-time I stay downtown!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Rivington the first week of this month. It didn't start out so promising. First of all, we thought the lighting was too dim. We could hardly see anything! After a day and night, I finally figured out that there is a tiny switch next to each light switch, which is the dimmer. It just had to be turned up. It would be nice if the bellhop would show this to new guests.

Then, the service was slow to nonexistant. Our refrigerator stopped working, and the staff said no one could fix it until late the next morning. They did put some food we had bought in the hotel kitchen refrigerator.

The second day our room was still not made up when we returned late in the day. As we were waiting in the hotel lobby for our room to be cleaned, we were greeted by the new general manager, Marcanthony. He listened to our complaints, said he would take care of things, and comped us breakfast for the next morning (which was delicious, by the way).

After that, everything improved 100 percent. Service was immediate, our refrigerator was fixed, and we set about really enjoying the hotel. The beds have temper pedic mattresses, which are wonderful. My daughter's favorite thing is the steam shower room, and there is a huge tub as well. The room is spacious.

As for the street noise, there is some. We were on the third floor. It was only really bad on Saturday night. I had earplugs, so, no problem. The rest of the week, it isn't that bad.

I would recommend this hotel, and I'm pretty sure we will stay here again on our next visit to NYC. The location is great, if you love the LES, which we do.

Room Tip: If you like steam showers and large bathtubs, this is the place.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just got back from a weekend here and I had such a great time that i had to write a review as soon as possible.
Let me start by saying that the staff here are SUPERB. It was a weekend for my birthday on the 3rd of feb, my husbands on the 5th, and we were also belatedly celebrating our 5th anniversary. The concierge, Cristina, went above and beyond helping us to plan dinners, and, much to our delight, managed to upgrade us to a high corner king. As the other reviews mentioned, this room is fantastic with superb views and an incredible soaking tub. What a treat! But did she stop there? No! A complimentary bottle of wine and red velvet cupcakes awaited us!
What a sweetheart

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuzu1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I've stayed at the Hotel on Rivington a few times, and I'm finally taking the time to write a review!

First of all, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, including the concierge, who has never steered me wrong! I've always received great ideas on where to eat (ended up at Sauce, which was such a surprising treat!) and where to get a good 4 mile jog in (East River).

The hotel itself is still super chic and comfortable - I LOVE the mattress, seriously wish I had purchased one of them instead of the new overly expensive mattress we recently bought. The views from my corner room on my latest trip were incredible as always, and make the space a perfect place to spend an evening catching up on work with a glass of wine in one hand. It's the kind of hotel I honestly look FORWARD to coming back to after a full day of business trip meetings.

The staff was incredibly accommodating on my most recent trip, hence my desire to finally write the review they deserve! I held a bunch of interviews at the hotel, and they kindly allowed me to use the conference room space for a few hours while it was empty, and then I relocated to the quiet, comfortable, cool second-floor lobby for the remainder. The complimentary coffee is a major plus!

Breakfast at Co-op is consistently great. I opted for an omelet both days and attempted the NY Post crossword (a copy of the paper is left at everyone's door, which is amusing!).

I love the little touch of fresh homemade cookies by the bed in the evenings, possibly most of all!

I'll be back and will continue to make this my NY hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Corner - truly the definition of a "room with a view"
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
661 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#80 of 468 in New York City
663 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#205 of 468 in New York City
716 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
953 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#167 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $308 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing