We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 317
USD 244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 194
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 226
USD 169
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
USD 179
USD 144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 186
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 252
USD 243
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 232
USD 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 192
USD 164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 341
USD 133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dominick Hotel(New York City)
USD 455
USD 388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 468/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
112
124
30
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
124
30
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsmadison square parkflatiron buildingbathrooms and showersbunk bedsvariety of fresh fruitbasic channelsheavy luggagefree breakfastbudget staygreat locationnew yorkbring earplugsno elevatorthird floorsafe neighborhoodother guests
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed over a year ago with two girlfriends. Very tight squeeze in the rooms, but I guess it's what is to be expected in New York. Good neighbourhood, and easy to navigate NY from. Generous breakfast with lots of variety, nice communal areas, although again they were small.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayXZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Breakfast-freshly made waffles, boiled eggs, cereals, toast and pastries, fresh coffee, fruit-bananas/peaches. Peanut butter, Nuttella, maple serup and honey.
Snacks -biscuits/cookies,twizzlers, pretzels all day/night long.
Small Kitchen. Only common area to meet other people.

Close to Madison Square Park & an easy walk to the Empire State Building. Great location. Great base for exploring Manhattan. Safe. A block from the supermarket and the subway.

Narrow staircase, to get to reception and another to get to your room. Rooms are small. Comfy beds. Good lockers. Good bathrooms, but abit smelly.

Free WIFI in rooms and also 3 computers to use-very cheap.

Reasonably priced at $59 weekdays/$69 weekends for the dorms. Compared to other hostels.

Liked the little extras this hostel provided, like the handsoap, earcleaners , cotton balls. Nicely decorated. Air conditioned. Safe.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rapariga_madeirense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Found this to be a very nice base for both sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan. Good neighborhood, close to good eateries like the Snack Shack and all the Indians a few streets up.

Male dorm was ok, pretty small and just a small window, aircon rather loud, beds extremely squeaky, bring earplugs! Shares bathroom just with next door (female dorm I think) and there are plenty other options across the hall. Good washing ($5) with detergent/softener provided. Internet speed is ok, wifi free and computers $1/half hour. Staff is variable, Fabi extremely friendly, Sebastian really nice, Perry a bit dejected and only sometimes helpful, and there was also a girl I did not even dare ask for her name as she was looking so mean at me all the time ;). Very good breakfast, 7-11. Very clean.

Big thing that is missing is a common room. My advice, take that bathroom out, break down the walls and connect internet room to kitchen. Such a shame there is no place but the small cramped dorm room to meet the fellow travellers. The kitchen is too small and you won't see if someone is in there when walking past, same as internet room, so that's not working at all.

Too expensive. Really, $59/$69 (weekends) for a dorm bed? Sigh, I guess it's what you pay in Manhattan. Think about going to Queens (Q4 and Westway Hotels were recommended to me by others that stayed there), if it's too expensive for you.

All in all, Manhattan makes you put up with a few downsides, and if you dont want to stay in the huge HI uptown (with lots of 20year old party crowd I'm sure), probably your best bet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

American Dream Hostel is a very good choice for people who are visiting NYC the first time. Reasonable priced in an awesome location. Just two blocks away from 23rd street.
Many attractions are reachable by foot. Loads of bars, restaurants, supermarkets and whatever you need close by.
Facilities get cleaned many times each day, never saw em filthy at all.

Rooms are kind of small (well.. for this price in NYC it's more than enough, as well as you are only there to sleep) and if you get a room to the street go get some ear plugs, it's really a city which never sleeps (or let you sleep).

100% recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhlerKlambes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a fantastic place. This hostel is EXTREMELY CLEAN! Spotless bathrooms, fresh-smelling sheets and blankets, high quality towels, and clean rooms. I have actually never stayed in a hostel as clean as this. Although the bathrooms are shared, I never once waited for either the toilet or the shower, and there are multiple bathrooms per floor. (I never even saw anyone coming in or out of the bathrooms). The rooms come with a sink / soap / hand towel, a flat screen TV, shelving unit for storage, and hangers. Overall it's a pretty charming hostel, it feels cozy and comfortable. The front desk people were nice but not over bearing. We borrowed a hairdryer from them and were allowed to keep it in our room for our stay. I really thought the location was great - close to a subway to explore all areas of Manhattan or Brooklyn. It's super close to many coffee shops, restaurants, and a Walgreens. It's also on a quiet street so we never were bothered by any traffic noises. We absolutely looked forward to coming home to our room at night after exhausting days of exploring. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 33 - it's in the corner and much bigger than the other rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staycray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews