We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Izakaya MEW

Izakaya MEW
Ranked #58 of 13,759 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: USD 30 - USD 40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

This is by far our favourite place to visit in NYC. The food and service is second to none. You will leave with a full stomach and purse..the food is very affordable and always fresh. Cannot wait to come back!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank CKP93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

If God had a favourite restaurant in New York, this would be it!

Huge menu, tasty as hell, and a fraction of the cost of the high end places. Recommend the Seared Tuna, outstanding.

The only draw back is you cannot book - you have to queue and wait for a table.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Cloud_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

Really fresh and tasteful sushi. The staff is friendly. You are not rushed even if there are people waiting, which is really nice. However,, this also means that you have to wait for a table. But after saying your name you can leave and come back. It is worth the wait. It is not possible to make a reservation.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 718lianneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

There’s always a line, so plan on having a drink at the bar while you wait for your table. The food is awesome. Service is friendly. Try everything.

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Jess_NewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2018 via mobile

Wow! What a hidden gem. It’s so hidden that I had a tough time finding it. It’s in the basement! So, remember to look for the black curtain that says the name of the restaurant that could easily be found by everyone except me. Btw, this place is cash only. That’s right, what’s in your wallet and under your mattress? Bring your piggy bank!

Anyway, my friend suggested that we meet here for lunch and I said yes right away. The place was packed during lunch. I ordered salmon teriyaki and she ordered a bowl of chirashi. Both ordered from lunch specials. My salmon was good but I should have ordered chirashi because I tried it and loved it. Well, next time. The salmon is served with rice and soup plus some pickles and potato salad. Chirashi came with just the soup. The two orders were priced fairly. We got plenty!

I enjoyed looking at the decorations. Some old Japanese stuff are all around such as an old sewing machine by the restroom entrance. I found some sumo wrestling painting on the wall. They displayed some Japanese boxing equipment too. This place has a little bit of everything, about Japan. Neat!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank NoraFrydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Izakaya MEW also viewed

 

Been to Izakaya MEW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.