We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former skeptic now sold on Umami Burger”
Review of Umami Burger - CLOSED

Umami Burger
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Reviewed 10 December 2017

When Umami Burger first opened on Sixth Avenue, I was skeptical. As a burger enthusiastic, I thought it was just another trendy, over-hyped restaurant with a short lifespan. I was so wrong. Now, I regularly find myself seeking excuses to convert the uninitiated.

Very knowledgeable and conscientious wait staff are great at listening to dietary concerns and helping diners pick appropriate selections. I can't eat the burgers, but I love, love, love the fried chicken sandwich, hands down the best chicken sandwich I've ever consumed in my lifetime. Instead of lettuce, which frequently becomes wilted and droopy when coming into contact with a hot piece of chicken, Umami uses shredded cabbage. When combined with the sauce placed between the chicken and the bun, the cabbage transforms itself into coleslaw inside the sandwich. Genius!

The chicken is obviously fresh and expertly fried. I cannot commend whomever runs the frier too highly. They are obviously extremely skillful. Buns appear to be all brioche-style, which withstands condiments better than the average burger bun.

As far as atmosphere goes, I had inaccurately predicted loud conversations and pulsing, annoying music playing too loudly. I was wrong about that too.

In summary, if you like burgers and other sandwich-y things, give Umami try. It's not as cheap as many other burger-slinging enterprises, but you're paying for quality and it's worth every penny.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller2010NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Your enthusiastic review puts smiles on our faces! We're so glad you appreciate the knowledgeable service you receive here, and that you love our chicken sandwich so much! Our culinary team works diligently to create superb dishes for our guests, and it's awesome that this sandwich is the best you've ever had. Thanks for encouraging others to visit and find their own yummy favorites! Gratefully, Umami Burger Greenwich Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

I love umami burgers - so mamy to choose from. This one is low key and the service is pleasant. They offer lettuce wrapped burgers which is a big plus. I would recommend it for a casual meal out with friends ... their burgers are on point!

Thank ROSSAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

We love your terrific support of Umami! Pleasant service is what we want our guests to experience, and we're pleased to read that you're a fan of our lettuce wrap option. Thanks for recommending Umami as a great place to grab a meal with friends! Gratefully, Umami Burger Greenwich Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Trying to choose one between all the choices they have it’s so hard but trust me, you can’t go wrong!

Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

We appreciate you letting others know that they can't go wrong at Umami! Our menu is full of delicious options and unique flavor combinations, and we're always happy to help our guests find the perfect burger to match their taste. :) Gratefully, Umami Burger Greenwich Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

we went to umami to try impossible burger. waiter was very nice, atmosphere is great and the burger is just delicious. I`ve never ate better burger.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Viera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

It sounds like you had the full Umami experience! Nice service, great atmosphere, and delicious food is what we're all about. Thanks for letting us know you've never had a better burger! Gratefully, Umami Burger Greenwich Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Not much is low calorie here, but you will find unique burgers and sides. Vegetarian, Vegan, & gluten free options. Small, noisy, and fairly busy location on Sixth Avenue in Greenwich Village. Be prepared to wait.

Thank demTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UmamiBurger, Guest Relations Manager at Umami Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your positive review. Unique burgers and sides are what we set out to create, and we're glad you appreciate the different options we offer on our menu. Please come back again! Gratefully, Umami Burger Greenwich Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing