We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extrodinary experience in fine dining”
Review of Tocqueville

Tocqueville
Reserve with OpenTable
Tocqueville is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 16,179 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 80
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Union Square and Fifth Avenue
Transit: Union Square 4,5,6,N,Q,R,L,F,M
Reviewed 15 January 2019

From the time we opened a door to we left it was one of the most favorable dining experience we have experienced in many years of exploring restaurants of all levels from neighborhood to Michelin Star. The décor was warm and inviting. The staff was professional, accommodating and personable. The Food, yes the food.... Creative, beautiful and interesting presentation. But the taste and flavors are from heaven. Foie Gras to Butter Poached Lobster to Lightly Smoked Duck Breast to Sriracha Marinated Grilled Filet Mignon. PLEASE leave room for the Bittersweet Chocolate Soufflé. A very welcoming wine list to accompany your dining experience. SPECIAL NOTE - try their 5 course tasting menu, Very Reasonable.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank augiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2019

The service was fantastic, and the food was excellent! Also, I must say, I loved the size of the venue. It's just right; not too big so as to feel overwhelming, and not so small you feel like you are on top of another table. . . This will be next year's anniversary spot!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

Had Christmas dinner there it was amazing. The decor is lovely and the location smart. They had a Christmas menu with awesome winter drinks including a delicious toddy. We devoured the appetizers of tuna tartare and lobster ravioli . The main course the trout stood out, but the winner was the scallops. It was a nice place to share a Christmas dinner.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Prolineone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Wow! We had the tasting menu. Very generous portions for a tasting menu. Food was tasty and luxurious.
Staff helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DArcher_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful experience! Lovely, cozy, and warm ambience and service. The food was outstanding. Starting with the wonderful focaccia, through the starters (risotto was the winner) but foie gras and cheddar salad were also good, through to the filet mignon. We finished with the chocolate soufflé which was perfect. I can’t believe we hadn’t been here before.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank aliciaskubick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tocqueville also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tocqueville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing