We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 208
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 158
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 198
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 213
USD 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 203
USD 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
USD 163
USD 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 340
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 255
USD 233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dominick Hotel(New York City)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 445
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Beacon(New York City)(Great Value!)
USD 682
USD 426
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
904
571
280
133
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
571
280
133
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral park souththe executive loungegreat locationcolumbus circlepark viewnew yorkguest relationsjunior suiteroom servicehistoric hotelan upgradelincoln centertimes squaredirectly across the streetcarnegie hallnyc hotelshigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 8 days
The location is great the staff is very friendly.the breakfast is excellent.
The rooms are nice.
We came very late in the evening the staff were very kindly,the room was prepared. We had some fruit in the room chocolate mineral water.
The best in New York

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank colman r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear colman r,

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed several days of our wonderful staff, beautifully renovated spaces, and delicious breakfast. Next time you find yourself in The Big Apple, we would be excited to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Well located for the Metropolitan Opera and mid town CBD the Essex House is slightly showing its age. But very helpful and courteous staff made our 5 night stay a pleasure.
Charging $10 for a kettle to make tea seems like a liberty but then again no complimentary water.
This is NYC after all
Great concierges

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Harry H,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed several wonderful nights in our perfect location in the heart of Manhattan and with our accommodating staff and concierges. We regret to hear that there were aspects of your stay that you found less than satisfactory. We will certainly pass your concerns along to our respective departments and would be happy to discuss these further if you contact us directly. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us and we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Took our 2 dogs along for a family nyc trip. Front desk friendly, nothing spectacular to note, but no issues either. Great to be across the street from Central Park for the dogs. A bit far from things to do but taxis are everywhere as well as uber/Lyft.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank JadeN1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear JadeN1972,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time in NYC with us. We are grateful that you have taken the time to share your valuable feedback and are glad that our friendly staff and pet-friendly hotel made this a wonderful stay for your whole family. We would love to welcome you back again the next time you find yourself in Manhattan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Stayed here for the NYC Half Marathon in March 2018. Great location overlooking Central park and short distance from the half marathon finish line which was a bonus. Hotel staff is very friendly. Being a Marriott Platinum member, me and my wife had access to the lounge for free breakfast. The rooms have been recently renovated and look very nice. Used SpotHero app and got a $25 weekend parking pass at a parking garage on 56th st between 5th and 6th ave, despite the streets being closed for St. Patrick's day parade, NYPD was very helpful in letting me thru with the car to get to the parking garage. I will definitely stay here again

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 967AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear 967AF,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a memorable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts. From our beautifully renovated spaces to our delicious breakfast and welcoming staff, we take pride in offering each and every guest a wonderful experience. We would love to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Let me separate the review section into two sections:

1) we were treated to a wonderful upgrade, as Marriott Platinum member, associated also with our personal celebration. A room with a view over Central Park, a bottle of prosecco with some treats , was absolutely wonderful and priceless - yet not sustainable for the business I am afraid.

2) customer service / property condition comments:
- absolute lack of attention to detail (see enclosed pictures - dirty air filter, broken floor molding in the bathroom etc.)
- there were two of us staying - despite asking (twice), there was only one bathrobe, cosmetics for one etc.
- lounge: no 24/7 access to the lounge ! - totally outrageous - access only for breakfast, which was by far worse compared to some much lower end Marriott chain hotel (Courtyard , Fairfield etc.) - no real espresso machine, paper vs glass/china cups, choices so limited that almost embarrassing, awful quality of eggs, stale bagels (in NY which is famous of its bagels (sic!) - etc. etc.
- clocks in the room were not changed to reflect summer time
- I asked for hard boiled eggs (called from the room before descending to the lounge) and was told that 'we have what we have' - and I got hung up on (called on March 31st, 7/8am?, 'Concierge' button, person George? Georgine? picked up). Ironically enough, they had hard boiled eggs in their selection. To clarify - I didn't ask for quail or ostrich eggs - just normal hen eggs
- they charge $25 per day so called 'destination fee' - total outrage, only upon my questioning of the validity of the charge, they removed it from the bill.

Finally, a week ago I happened to visit a Sacher Hotel in Vienna - if anyone from this NYC flagship JW Marriott wants to learn what luxury, attention to detail, supreme customer service etc. looks like - learn from the best, go to Vienna, and implement in NY.

For now, I am done with this property, not the right return for the money.

Room Tip: very poor return for the buck
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank south_pasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara S, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear south_pasadena_CA,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking a moment to share your thoughts. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and we will certainly share your concerns with our respective departments. Although we are pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful upgrade, we regret to hear of the encounters that you found less than satisfactory. Please feel free to contact us directly to discuss your concerns further. We would value the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel and offer you the JW Treatment you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews