We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NYC institution.. you must go!”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Get food delivered
Ranked #469 of 13,394 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Katz's Deli is an incredible place and I'm so glad I made the trip on a recent visit to NYC.

For those who haven't been before, ordering might not be so conventional, so here is a bit of a rundown.

I recommend going early. We went around 11:00AM on a week day and we didn't have to queue and there were plenty of tables available.

When you enter, all guests will be given a ticket. Do not lose this! This is how they mark down what you have ordered for your bill.

You will then progress to a numbered counter to order your meal. We ordered one pastrami on rye, which was enough for two people.

If you want drinks or sides, you will then move over to another counter. Then you can sit down and enjoy your delicious meal.

I can't explain how beautiful the pastrami is there. It so so juicy and flavoursome.

Once you finish, you bring your tickets and pay at the back (credit card) or front (cash).

Make sure you check out all the photos on the wall!

My only regret is not going to Katz's more than once during my trip. It was amazing!! A must do in New York City.

Date of visit: October 2019
3  Thank Kbot5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (17,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 443 of 17,367 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Great food, Each portion is enough for two meals. Katz deli is it in historic New York eatery that should not be missed by visitors to New York City.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

Defiantly a must whilst in New York,
Traditional pastrami also the turkey absolutely gorgeous ,
Recommend ,

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank karenm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

After a dance performance at Dixon Place, on Chrystie Street, we walked over to Katz's for a late dinner. The joint was jumping at 9:30 pm, Hot pastrami, Cole slaw and matzoh ball soup were our choices, Nothing disappointed. I found a $10 bill on the floor, which no one claimed, so the counter man got an extra big tip.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

It’s an iconic place and a must try. However, honestly, the food was not that great. I had half of a pastrami sandwich and a matzo soup along with their house ale. Pastrami was very fatty and plain. For 20 dollar combo, I expected more. The place was busy and had a great atmosphere, however. Am I glad I went - yes, will I go again - unlikely.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Y7672VEalexanderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.