We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo good”
Review of Tao

Tao
Ranked #293 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park & Madison
Transit: 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue
Description: A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sooooo good”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I just love this restaurant. It is so beautiful and the food is delicious, fresh and always surprise me in a very good way. You should try it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnaKruel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,414
    971
    348
    131
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inderoey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trendy place in NY”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Nice experience in NY, food was very good, and the bartender funny and fast with his drinks. Many groups of friends for a night out, getting moor crowded i wondered why the party never really started.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonkmanInderoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I love, love, love this place. Décor is awesome and the food is incredible. I’ve been here several times and each time I try something new – nothing ever disappoints. I think my favorite meal has been the steak. And the lava cake desert is sooooo good. I’m not a mojito kind of girl, but Taojitos have got to be one of my favorite drinks everrrr!!!! It can get very crowdy and noisy at night and on weekends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashiena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects but pricey.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, excellent staff service and an overall very very pleasent dining experience, but which comes at a dollar price - not recommendable therefore if you go there on a budget.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food at a trendy place”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were there for lunch a few days ago .. they offer a great price fix luch with about 4 different selections for each course,we had sushi, and other asian delicacies that was excellent and topped it off with their Zen parfait that was out of this world:) the place has a very pleasent atmosphere, only the tables are too close, so you tend to get a bit too close to your neighbors..
we had a great time and enjoyed our lunch and highly recomend it!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robokrugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tao also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing