We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Chinese ”
Review of Nom Wah Tea Parlor

Nom Wah Tea Parlor
Ranked #1,082 of 16,095 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

This place isn’t fancy, but the food is very good. The have a great tea list, a decent beer list and a crappy wine list. It’s also cash only, which is kind of a pain. We enjoyed the scallion pancakes, the egg fried rice, the fried noodles, the shrimp sui mai and the steamed red bun. The have a huge menu and the place was packed for a Monday afternoon.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank WineSnob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with this restaurant. Service was quick. The food choices are unbelievable. We ordered dumplings, shrimp wrapped in bacon, fried rice a dumpling soup, etc. Everything was so fresh and so good. Portions were good also. This restaurant is on a street that is in an alley. Worth checking out. Very busy too. Go early.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Danjolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great service, good flavours hot and fresh. Options for vegetarians who eat fish/seafood. Best steamed pork buns we have had. Living in BC we have numerous restaurants to choose from for dim sum and the Nom Wah in New York is an excellent choice.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shilo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I had higher expectation about this place, as it got decent rating and that it is located in Manhattan China Town which is known for decent Cantonese food. But once I tried it, I was quite disappointed.

The quality of the rice roll can say a lot about Chef's skill, but the rice roll at this place is not even smooth (I felt like I was chewing a piece of rough paper) and the beef inside doesn't taste fresh either. Steamed spare ribs is OK, but they put too much flour on the meat and it was too sticky.

For someone that was constantly disappointed by the Cantonese food in Paris, well, I think this one is even more disappointing... Not to mention the neighbourhood is quite dirty, the restaurant itself is very old and packed. I guess for some people this is the kind of place where you find 'authenticity', but unfortunately it's only 'authentic' if you are talking about China from 20 years ago + very average dim sum standard.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessicachan0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

This place is always hopping so expect a wait. We heard that it is not bad during the week but expect an hour in the weekend. You can get a soda to drink outside while you wait. Inside the joint looks like a diner. This is not the type of place with little carts. You order from photos and a check off list. The atmosphere is loud and bustling. Food is great! Loved the pork bun, soup dumplings and pan fried noodles !! It's been in business since 1920! What they make, they make well!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank CplusJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nom Wah Tea Parlor also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nom Wah Tea Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing