We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was superb!”
Review of Cafe Boulud

Cafe Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #363 of 14,798 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 40 - USD 80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: 5th and Madison Avenues
Transit: #6 Train to 77th Street & Lexington Avenue M1, M2,M3 or M4 buses on Madison Avenue - 77th Street Stop
Description: CAFÉ BOULUD features a French-American menu inspired by Chef Daniel Boulud's four culinary muses: la tradition, classic French cuisine; la saison, seasonal delicacies; le potager, the vegetable garden; and le voyage, the flavors of world cuisines. In addition to dinner seven days a week, we offer a rotating two-course ($39) or three-course ($45) Lunch du Marché menu from Monday to Friday and brunch on weekends. The restaurant is both a neighborhood gem and a destination for food lovers in search of casually elegant dining. Two private dining rooms seating 18 guest each are available for your entertaining needs, and may be combined to accommodate 40. The restaurant's adjacent BAR PLEIADES serves inventive cocktails and a luxurious bar menu from 3pm.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The evening was smooth flowing, from the ambience to table service, it exceeded our expectations. Attentive but not intrusive. We opted to try the “Voyage” which is Japanese. Hamachi was spot on delicious. For main it was the duck breast on menu and classic Striped Bass. We savoured every bite! Highlight of the night other than food, is that the place managed to keep it cool as it is elegant. There is diversity and good energy in dining room! A great dining experience!

1  Thank LewisMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Cafe Boulud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Lewis, We are so glad you had a wonderful dining experience at Café Boulud and enjoyed the elegance and vitality of our dining room. Thank you for sharing your splendid compliments for the rich Hamachi from the “Voyage” menu, as well as your duck breast and Striped Bass. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back. Gratefully, Cherif Mbodji, Café Boulud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Starting with matzah meal with cheese and lemon amuse bouche. White asparagus with sabayon, tarragon, cheese and a demitasse of asparagus soup. Duck as tender as can be. Sea bass wrapped in mandolin cut potato. Butterscotch pudding for her and green tea ice cream for me. Hot petit Madeleines! The wine was an amazing value.

Thank ValleyFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Cafe Boulud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of your recent dining experience at Café Boulud. We are so pleased you considered everything superb from start to finish, and appreciate your enthusiastic compliments, especially for your duck and sea bass, as well as for the wine paired with your meal. It is always a pleasure and privilege to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Gratefully, Cherif Mbodji, Café Boulud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived for our 7pm reservation and there was a happy buzz among the seated patrons... a busy evening for Easter Sunday.

We both chose the white asparagus as a first course. The presentation was stunning, served with a light toast topped with two walnuts and a quail(?) egg. A bordelaise zabaglione was served over comte cheese at the tips of the asparagus.... both beautiful and luscious. A demitasse cup of delicious asparagus velute was served on the side to accompany the asparagus spears.

My husband selected the house specialty, striped bass en pauppiette served on a bed of pureed potatoes and baby leeks. Pure perfection!

As an entree I chose the strip sirloin served with potatoes dauphine. The steak was delicious prepared medium rare per the chef’s recommendation. I had expected a thin, flat strip steak, maybe 5-6 oz and I was a bit surprised to be served a steak which appeared to be at least 12oz. For me, the serving was too large so I asked to have half packed to go. (I wanted to enjoy dessert!)

*I would recommend that the restaurant indicate the size of the steak so guests may be fully aware upon ordering.

We enjoyed a delicious pinot noir to compliment our dinner and the sommelier was very helpful with questions as we chose between two different bottles.

For dessert, I selected the pine nut torte/chocolate ganache/chocolate brownie. It had a beautiful presentation and it was delicious!

My husband selected the hazelnut divine creation called Roucher, and he loved it!

Thank 2beans2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Cafe Boulud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your eloquent compliments for our special Easter Sunday dinner. We are very happy you enjoyed each dish, especially the Provencal White Asparagus and special desserts, and while we thank you for your kind words for your striploin steak, we apologize for any confusion regarding the size and appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. Thank you, also, for your kind words for the knowledgeable help you were given by our sommelier, as well as for the ambiance and happy energy of our dining room. It was our pleasure to serve you and your husband and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Gratefully, Cherif Mbodji, Café Boulud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Extremely elegant restaurant located on extremely elegant street - amazing presentation , refine taste and beautiful atmosphere. Potato covered fish deserve an OSCAR !!!

Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Cafe Boulud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Danny, Thank you so much for your marvelous compliments for Café Boulud’s refined elegance and cuisine, and what an honor that you considered your fish worthy of an Oscar! It makes us very happy that you enjoyed a wonderful dining experience here and we look forward to welcoming you again. Gratefully, Cherif Mbodji, Café Boulud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I met a longtime friend and resident of New York at this charming restaurant on the upper east side.

It's easy to find on 76th Street.

The entrance is elegant and separated--mercifully--from the dining room,, so the cold air from the frigid day I visited was kept away from the patrons. Not all restaurants are as thoughtful as this.

The table was set with lovely china, cloth napkin, and tablecloth.

Service was excellent.

We each had a different breakfast item, and we both claimed they were absolutely excellent! Coffee--expensive--was very good---and frequently refilled just as my water glass was---without interrupting our conversation--the server just came and took care of what needed to be done.

We had a leisurely time---other guests came and went--but the place was quiet and without any bothersome noise or chatter from the restaurant's staff. The check was not rushed.

The restroom was spotless, and there were printed paper towels for use--a nice touch I think.

My experience is limited here of course, but I can recommend this place for an elegant breakfast without reservation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yorkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Cafe Boulud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are delighted you had a wonderful, relaxing brunch with your friend at Café Boulud during your visit to New York, and glad to have kept you warm from the blustery, cold day!

Thank you for sharing your kind compliments for our elegant ambiance and the professional service that made it comfortable to visit and enjoy your meal over a great cup of coffee.

We appreciate your stellar recommendation for our brunch and hope to welcome you again, perhaps for lunch or dinner, the next time you visit NYC. Gratefully, Cherif Mbodji, Café Boulud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing