We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't want anyone to know about this place!”
Review of St Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Marks Hotel
Ranked #398 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I don't want anyone to know about this place!”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

But here goes anyway:
This is the only place I like to stay in NYC. I "discovered" it the very first time I went to New York and didn't realize what a steal it was. I went back a few months later and it was booked up and only then did I realize how much I love the location and the price. You get a safe, clean, air conditioned room with an LCD TV and DVD player and full cable, your own bathroom and fresh towels and a made-up room ever day, right in the East Village, for like, half the price of any other comparable room in the city.
One trip, a bunch of my friends all booked rooms here (about 14 of us) and no one had any complaints, so it's not just that I'm easy to please. I stayed with 3 girlfriends once and we got 2 double beds for $160. Try to do New York for $40 a night -- try to do ANYWHERE for $40 a night -- and you won't come close to this place.
Staff are pretty nice, never had a problem. If you need directions someplace, they will print you up a google map or whatever.
I guess this place is not for everybody. I once heard an older lady complain that it was "too noisy" and the guy at the desk said, "Lady, it's New York!" (ha ha. I just turn on the air conditioner or fan if it gets noisy on the streets below).
Yes it's cash only and there's no elevator, but if that's important to you, go stay somewhere else because I don't want this place getting too popular! One thing that's a drag is that WiFi is really expensive, but it's free without a password at the Film Academy Cafe across the street.
I heard it used to be a hooker and junkie hang out, but those days are long gone. It's all families and tourists now. It was closed all summer for fire code violations and I am so glad it's open again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor facing away from St. Mark's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Canadian09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    179
    120
    37
    40
See reviews for
64
168
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for our 25th birthday. We were on New York a week and stayed here for 4 days, the staff were lovely, helped us with our bags, and humoured our English accents, slight drunken behaviour, hang overs in the morning, they helped with taxi's and cutting the arms off a top I wanted cutting. We made a mess with some peanuts and they cleaned up quickly with no bother. The location is perfect for young arty types, we were so close to bars, tattoo shops, funky clothes shops and million food places. Perfect in every way. Made my 25th unforgettable thank you do much!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punkonomix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The St. Marks Hotel is a small hotel located right in the East Village (next to the Trash and Vaudeville store for all you punk rockers). I traveled with my sister, cousin, mom, and aunt- all different ages. We visited the city for just a weekend (two nights) and quite enjoyed ourselves. The hotel rooms were much smaller than what we are accustomed to with just enough room for the beds; however, they were perfect for what we needed. During the weekend the only time spent in the hotel was while we were sleeping; the hotel was simply homebase. That said, the St. Marks is within comfortable walking distance to numerous great cafes, breakfast diners, etc. Additionally, we walked literally everywhere we went- from the hotel to 5th Avenue, to Times Square, to Broadway etc. If you need to take the Subway, it is 1 block away. You can also find a Starbucks, a Walgreens, and many other stops right by the hotel. Finally, there is an AWESOME pizza place located downstairs on the corner of the hotel too. While the St. Marks is certainly not luxurious, you CANNOT beat the price for the friendly staff, great location, and clean rooms!

Room Tip: We had a room with two doubles for three people. My aunt and cousin stayed in a room with a full be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Your_Traveling_Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I just stayed a couple of nights here and it was fine. Great lively location, and the hotel was clean and modern. You get what you pay for so it's not a five star paradise, but it was the best deal I found and I would definitely stay there again. I asked about them being closed recently for the fire code violations and they said that was during the summer, and they seem to be fine now.

Room Tip: I took a queen sized room which was fine (bigger than at the Hudson for example).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchFrance69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed here for a week, small rooms but when your in new york your not there to stay in your room all day.

Lots of stairs no lift.

You are in the heart of the village so its all good
Your very near the subway,lots of resturants and bars. its a busy street so its a bit noisy
Safe was downstairs which im not a fan of but you get over it.

It was sufficent for what we wanted, a place to sleep.

my tip would be there is a cafe down the block with a great breakfast / lunch menu called cafe orlin

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#164 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#364 of 467 in New York City
245 reviews
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#383 of 467 in New York City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
631 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#424 of 467 in New York City
124 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#374 of 467 in New York City
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Marks Hotel

Property: St Marks Hotel
Address: 2 Saint Marks Pl, New York City, NY 10003-8092
Region: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $174 - $264
Hotel Class:3 star — St Marks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your St Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks Hotel Nyc
Hotel St Marks
St Marks Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing