We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #218 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This summer we stayed at the Gansevoort Hotel for 8 nights. We really liked our stay, the location is great, surrounded by all kinds of restaurants and some good shops. It's easy to walk to the High-line-Park, but it is also a nice walk to Bleecker street, and from there to Soho.

We chose a hotel with swimming-pool because we know NYC-summers get really hot and it's good to be able to cool down a little.
The swimming pool is small, but the space to sit and sunbathe is even smaller, so there were times it was so crowded, especially the fridays, where you couldn't even grab the smallest stool, so you had to sit on a towel on the floor. Luckily we've also had the opportunity once or twice to get hold of a few sun beds, and we enjoyed that quite a lot.

We thought the staff was helpful and kind, and we liked our room: we stayed in a suite which was rather big, with a huge bathroom and two toilets.
And not to forget: We also LOVED the coffee machine in our room :-))
I would absolutely recommend this hotel whenever you like to stay in the Meatpacking District.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear flyingdutchie,

Thank you for the rave review. We're thrilled your experience exceeded your expectations. It's great you had a chance to explore the Meatpacking District, as it offers a plethora of delicious restaurants, trendy boutiques and beautiful attractions. We're also glad you enjoyed our coffee machine, as we know indulging in a cup of morning brew can be a great start to the day. On another note, we apologize you found it difficult to find space by the pool, but we're glad you were able to secure a sun bed to lounge comfortably. We appreciate your recommendation and we hope to have you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 731 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has excellent sized rooms, well appointed and maintained - very good level for NY. The service is very impersonal. The lift boy acted as a bouncer with me ....giving me a lesson on what to do. The fact the roof bar elevator is mixed with room elevators and access reduces the feeling safety and intimacy in the hotel. reception desk also average service. Breakfast was average and a again...service poor.

Room Tip: Try for a high up floor , and a frontal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear toversti,

Thank you for the review. We're pleased you enjoyed our spacious rooms and accommodations, however we're deeply saddened your experience wasn't up to par. Our goal is to provide impeccable service and we apologize it didn't meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we'll be sure to share it with the rest of our team to ensure seamless hospitality for all future visits. We'd love another chance to prove our commitment and provide a flawless trip. Please feel free to email Digital@TheGHG.com for further questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Gansevoort for 5 night and the experience was brilliant. The front desk and concierge were attentive and accommodated our all requests. The decor is fabulous and the hotel has a great vibe and atmosphere.The rooftop pool and bar is magic with magnificent views of the city. The hotel is in the heart of the Meatpacking district so you can walk to the highline, Chelsea markets, art galleries etc. the icing on the cake was a bottle of champagne compliments of the hotel for my birthday unexpected and very much appreciated a nice touch.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rupina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Rupina M,

Thank you for the stellar review and happy birthday! We're thrilled you chose to celebrate this special occasion with us and we're glad you enjoyed the complimentary Champagne. We aim to accommodate all special requests and we're happy you felt well-taken care of. It's wonderful you were able to visit our rooftop and take in the stunning views of the Hudson River. We loved having you and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've just come back from a couple of days in NYC and I stayed at the Gansevoort. I had booked a last minute small room but they had upgraded me at no extra cost to a wonderfully large kingsize en-suite. The staff were amazing and no job was too small or too much trouble (i was there for work so did need emails printing off etc). The rooftop pool and bar was fantastic and a lot less busy than over the road at Soho House though I was there at the beginning of the week. I go to NYC a lot but this is the first time I've stayed at the Gansevoort and really hope to stay again. Soon!
Al

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlinLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear AlinLondon2014,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure having you and we're thrilled you had a fantastic experience. Providing seamless service is important to us and we're glad you were pleased with your room upgrade. We're also happy our team was able to accommodate your business needs, as we strive to cater to all of our guests' requests. It's great you had a chance to visit our rooftop and lounge above the skyline. Whether it be for work or leisure, we hope to have you again. Until next time!

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great, trendy hotel in a lovely part of Manhattan. Very modern in general, but one thing that has to be highlighted is the rooftop bar and pool, sitting here on a sunny afternoon and just enjoying life is priceless.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansevoort_HG, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Casper B,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience. We have to agree, the views from Plunge Lounge and our rooftop pool are breathtaking. You're able to see all of Manhattan in a single spot. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to take care of you again soon.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Meatpacking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 470 in New York City
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
676 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
668 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#176 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $333 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing