We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trend hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Ranked #215 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Charismatic room, great loft bar beside the pool, good restaurant, very nice service.
The spa is not recommandable, average massage and so so facilities. Overall it is rather noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Katharina19,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, pool, restaurant, and especially service. As a brand the service we provide is one of our main concerns, so we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed. As for the spa, we would love to know more about your treatment - we will discuss your feedback in detail with senior management at Exhale. We would love to make it up to you by welcoming you back whenever you please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,143 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great position, right in the meat packing district, very happening area, the hotel staff are fine, the rooms are tiny, the bedroom could do with some drawers, left most of my clothes in my case, no drawers? The bathroom is also very small, I expect more from a 5 star hotel, how can it have the same star ratting as say the Pierre?

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Edwardfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Edwardfreedman,

We are so happy that you enjoyed the location of our hotel however, we are extremely sorry for any negative impression we may have portrayed inadvertently. Due to the nature of New York City - space is constantly an issue. We do have the option for rooms with more storage space but we do understand where you’re coming from. Thus you should try our other NYC property, Gansevoort Park Avenue. We have built this hotel from the ground up and we are sure you will enjoy the design much more (also its in another great New York area, just a short walk away from Union Square and all sorts of amazing restaurants!) We hope we get the chance to have you back! Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel arranged a driver who picked me up from JFK with a town car.
I stayed here for two weeks in on of their bigger rooms on 10th floor facing the Hudson river.
The room had a comfy bed and a couch directly near the window with great views down the busy street and Hudson. It also comes with a really nice and spacious bathroom which I loved!
Staff was really friendly and helpful.
I ordered a lot from the in room dining menu which has a couple of good options but could offer more choice.
Its location in the meatpacking district is ideal for for people aged 20 to 40 I'd say. There are a couple of clubs(e.g. Cielo) and restaurants just 2 min away. For proper shopping you will have to walk a bit or take a cab but they a rather cheap in NYC anyways.
For you party people: there is a nice rooftop bar on 14th floor which gets quite packed on weekends. The good thing is, as a hotel guest you dont have to queue up in the main lobby to access the bar, you can just take the lift and come and go whenever you want. Also on 14th floor: rooftop pool.

I really enjoyed my stay but it is probably a bit pricey if you stay for longer than a couple of days.

Room Tip: upper floor with views on hudson river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigD314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Dennis W.,

Thank you so much for writing about your stay with us, on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and all that we have to offer! We also love your advice that you have given to the community - you definitely know what you’re talking about! We would love to have you back for another visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was a trendy hotel in the meatpacking district but is pretty pricey. The rooms were minimalistically decorated but with a comfortable feel but be aware that there is a bar/pool on the top floor. If you are trying to get a peaceful nights sleep on the weekends, this is not where you want to stay as the place gets noisy with patrons going upstairs. Good for hotel guests as they do not charge to go up.

The reception and concierge staff was very helpful in directing us to different spots to visit throughout the day and even suggested their own favorites in the city whiich was a suprise and very welcomed. There was surely no signs of snobbish behavior as I've heard rumored from reading reviews of this place.

Gansevoort is in a great location to travel and explore in the neighborhoods around it with a group of friends for a short visit. No so much for a family environment but definitely a great spot for couples and singles.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aznboi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Aznboi88,

Thank you so much for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your time with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed both our hotel as well as the neighborhood, of which we find the Meatpacking District to be one of the coolest parts of New York. As a brand we truly focus on customer service so we are excited to hear that you felt that we were helpful! As for the comment about the noise, we would love to update your profile so that we can ensure you have a noticeably quiet room. From what you have written it also seems that you may be a fan of our other New York property, Gansevoort Park Avenue, located on 29th and Park. We would love to welcome you back whenever you please. Thanks for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Let me start with saying - i have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the past two years. All sorts of rooms - from te basic entry level to the suites. They are very nice rooms. Not massive, but this is New York. I liked this hotel over The Standard as the people who worked there were more friendly and the service was better. Unfortunately I wont be staying here anymore. I was there during an unseasonably hot period in March. But the temperature in my room was 73f. I was told that there was nothing they could do as they hadnt turned the air con on for the summer yet. But they could give me a fan or i could open a window. I would have loved to open he window if (a) there wasnt a nightclub outside it or (b) there was not street noise....but this is the meatpacking district! Just not good enough really. I wont be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank still_call_aust_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Still_call_aust_home,

We are so sorry to hear about your stay with us during one of, what we like to call, Mother natures bipolar fits! We agree that a 73 depree room during a hot day is completely unacceptable and once again we would like to apologize for this. We agree this is completely unacceptable and we would hate to lose someone as loyal as you to something like this. Please contact us as we would love to correct the situation for you! Thanks for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#148 of 473 in New York City
2,988 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,716 reviews
Manhattan
Royalton Park Avenue
Royalton Park Avenue
#92 of 473 in New York City
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 473 in New York City
686 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#90 of 473 in New York City
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1202 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $348 - $822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing