We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Children and Family Unfriendly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Premier New York Times Square
Ranked #160 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Children and Family Unfriendly!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Travel with 2 young kids alone during July, was told by front desk kids were not allowed to go to Breakfast Area during the snacks time and I did not see anywhere in the Hotel Web Page mention about it at all.
Strange thing happened again when I was 2nd in line during the check out, the front desk just ignored me and talk to a man with business suit just step out from the elevator who said he was in a rush. Noone even said a word to me if I mind to let to this man to do the check out first
So my conclusion is Businessman welcome and family with kids sucks..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    216
    87
    27
    21
See reviews for
119
369
42
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The room was clean. Not a bad location for the price. Expedia was a bit misleading in that we understood we were staying at the millenium broadway (which is next door). No free wireless. We waited a long time to check in and were generally unimpressed. The buffet breakfast turned out to be very "continental" with no option to upgrade what so ever, so having paid an extra $14 for a danish, we weren't thrilled.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberleyp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
418 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel was sold to me by my travel agent. I was however told this would be the Millenium Hotel Broadway and not the adjacent Premier Hotel. What a mistake this turned out to be.
I arrived in the room 1022. There was a loud noise coming from the outside as if a plane was passing. This didnt go away and when I looked out of the window there was this huge unit which I believe to be an air conditioning unit in front of my window, but belonging to a building opposite. There really is no excuse for a hotel to sell you a room at 230 Dollars without making mention of this. This price just is not low enough to make up for that infernal noise which allows you no sleep. As far as I could gather the room 1022 had two ajacent rooms. I presume any room ending in 22 has the same noise issue so avoid at any cost. This is if you must go here.

The complimentary breakfast (which may be an attempt to make amends for your lack of sleep) was ok: croissant, coffee, juice, toasts and bagels. Basic but consumed in more upmarket surroundings than usual for this type of breakfast.

The concierge service was appaling by the way. A guy called Joey was not the brightest. He was unable to answer simple questions about how to get to the airport by public transport without resorting to asking a colleague and even so, both were rather disinterested. Still I left an undeserved tip. They were also playing loud house music when there were no customers around. The team seemed bored. The receptionist, Vivienne, was nice and professional but beneath it all she might be fed up with this low class of hotel trying to position itself as belonging to the classy one next to it which boast a far more attractive decor and presumably clientele.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I love it here. It is not the Renaissance or the Sofitel, my favorite ($$$) mid-town hotels, but the modern room furnishings and clean style of the Premier are very appealing. Check-in is very classy and, best of all it is very quiet and private. The location could hardly be better.

Rooms are clean, service is friendly - there's little not to like. The morning breakfast buffet area would be more functional if there were tables or other accomodations for coffee cups, plates and cereal bowls, and I wish it would open at 6:30 rather than 7:00 a.m., but the selection is wonderful and the quality of the food is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timminn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for business because they had the government rate and close to where I needed to conduct business. First - the plusses: Location was great - just off times square. Room was large with a nice view. It was very quiet on the 20th floor, which I like. The free cocktail hour was awesome - free beer, wine, sandwiches, etc. They got me in very early, at 7:30 a.m. which was nice but only after I pressed (I knew they had rooms, and had to sign up for their club to get in early).

The negatives: the decor was worn. caulking was peeling, shower leaked spontaneously in the middle of the nights, pieces of wall covering (was that paper?) peeling off. I'm sure it all looked nice 15 - 20 years ago. I thought I was staying in the Millenium, their sister hotel where I had reservations, but ended up there. As a result, I had an ice bucket but the ice was down 20 floors and over three addresses if I really wanted it. (same with the gym) Service was ok but not necessarily stellar.

Overall, it worked out ok, but if my wife had stayed with me, who's much pickier than me, it would have been a disaster. And if the kids had come, it would have been worse. The windows at ankle level (on the 20th floor) actually open! (albiet only about 4 or 5", but still a bit scary)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elijahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,117 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Premier New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Premier New York Times Square

Property: The Premier New York Times Square
Address: 133 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $313 - $731
Hotel Class:4 star — The Premier New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Premier New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing