We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Typical Best Western” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #395 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Typical Best Western”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here in Sept '10. Hotel is located in a part of town with lots of traffic because it's close to the entrance to the Lincoln tunnel and the Javits Center is a couple blocks away. With that said it's location is also a plus because the Port Authority terminal and Penn Station are within walking distance. The best thing about being in this part of town is that feels a lot like NY did before it started it's latest renaissance of sleek condo towers and chic hotels and restaurants. In this part of town there are a pizza stand that has no sitting area, a classic bagel place, and small family owned bodegas and the best part is the price reflects it. Of course there are also the newer restaurants and other places trying to make it, but they are sprinkled throughout and not necessarily concentrated in one particular area.

Picked this hotel after canceling a reservation at another nearby place. It was last minute and wound up being lucky because I got the last room. A couple came in as I was filling out paperwork and they were told the hotel was full. Whew! Although it was just me, I wound up with a room with 2 full size beds. The room was just big enough to fit both beds, TV console with TV, and small desk with chair. The room's decor seemed outdated. The bathroom was basic and not much to write home about. Breakfast was simple and the dining area was a bit small. Just got my little bit of food and ate up in the room. Again, plenty of options to eat around so just treat yourself elsewhere.

For the price it was not bad but had I planned better probably could have found something better for less. Since it was just a place to sleep at night, no major complaints.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the upper floors as you can get a little bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    265
    216
    86
    72
See reviews for
172
197
55
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Best value for money if you attend conference or event near Time Square. Small hotel, but it has everything you need. Free wireless. Most comfortable mattress that I've ever slept on in hotels worldwide. Breakfast is very poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nekdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I read alot of bad reviews with this hotel in terms of not being clean. So i went to the hotel expecting nothing.
The rooms however were better than what I expected it to be. The bed mattress was pretty good. Only problems I had with the room was of course space, it's pretty tight. There is not alot of area to walk around in the room. Another problem I found is the carpet is not vacumed and also they don't put a plastic bag for the bin in the bathroom. A bag is like 10 cents, come on seriously.

Now talking about breakfast. it's a rip off. a friend of mine(who was not staying at the hotel) had breakfast with us and they charged her $20. the breakfast is not worth $20- it's like cold food(bagels, juice, muffin) sometimes they have scrambled eggs and it tastes soo fake like powdered egg. another issue is the cleaners are the so called "chefs" at best western is kind of gross.

Safety- there are no nearby hotels in that area so i was initially abit scared because I was travelling with friends. It's not that bad- there were these weird drunk ppl who were always at the 38th and 11th av(the intersection closest to the hotel) at 10pm, just have to look away and walk past them. that's the only tackle.

Last but not least. Management is TERRIBLE. Annie seriously has problems and there is another male manager there. there were soo rude to us. Not all the staff are rude, it's just the managers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel in august 2011 for 5 nights and really it was amazing.
How come? The staff who are very very friendly, the small (= you don't need a big room in NY, you're never in) but clean rooms, breakfast included, very close to Times Square, do I have to say more.....:-) and our dear friend Julio. We miss you. Family from Belgium.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my second stay (Feb. 2012), again found the hotel clean and adequate for my needs, a good base to explore without breaking the bank. Rooms pretty tight, a larger person might have trouble getting to the far side of the bed but didn't plan to spend time there anyway. Beds seemed to have memory foam, very comfortable. Front desk very helpful when I requested a room further from the elevator (10th floor). Breakfast good (free!) with bagels, apples and bananas, endless coffee! Close to garment district, not a long walk to Times Square and the west side ped/bike path on the Hudson River, my favorite part of visiting NY.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisono190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#345 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#358 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#446 of 464 in New York City
1.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#295 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $151 - $366
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing