We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #171 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was impressed with my stay at TRYP. The staff was knowledgable and very friendly. fthe rooms are great. I would definiely recommend to other people. And it's a block from Penn Station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beacon1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Short, sweet, and wonderful! Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,802)
There are newer reviews for TRYP New York City Times Square South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,764 - 2,768 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Tryp Hotel near Times Square is a new hotel opened in January last. It is behind Madison Square Gardens and within walking distance to Times Square. When we visited the Hotel in February, it was still sorting out small snags, but that said none of the snags impacted on it's visitors. The staff from reception onwards were most helpfull and the rooms were large and spacious with a very large and comfortable bed. We had some difficulties with the Hotel's management regarding charging for meals and this issue was never rectified to our satisfaction, because the hotel does not provide receipts for meals taken. Visitors to the hotel should bear this in mind.
However, I would recommend this hotel to my friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Keep a careful check of meals taken in the Hotel which may be charged to your room. Ask for receip...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kriticooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbert P, Front Office Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My mom and I stayed at the TRYP hotel Monday through Friday. Check-in was at 3PM, but the staff let us check in early (around 11AM). There was no hassle to check in early, the staff members were really great about it~ :) I would totally stay here again.

We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our hotel room. The room was spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom was beautiful and the queen-sized bed was perfect for two people. Having a TV in the room was great because my mom and I watched our favorite shows after coming home from a long day of travel.

The hotel is located really close to the subway, so you won't have to walk that far to start your day. The hotel is also located extremely close to Madison Square Garden, so if you're planning on watching a Knicks game - this is the perfect location! The hotel is also located really close to Hell's Kitchen, Times Square and so much more!

As for the cons, there are two - not that it would deter me from staying at this hotel again. Our hotel didn't have a refrigerator, so any leftover food we brought home just sat on the table until the next day. This isn't a huge con, but having a refrigerator would have been really nice and convenient. Another thing that I didn't really like was the view. We were facing the building next to the hotel, so it wasn't very pretty. However, we were on the 5th floor and we kept the curtains closed most of the time. I guess if our hotel had been higher up, our view would have been better.

All in all, a great hotel. Loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianett G, Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

I would like to express our heartily thanks for your comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a fantastic time with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to not having a refrigerator during your stay. We’re delighted that you chose the TRYP Times Square South, and we look forward to the opportunity and the pleasure of serving you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at TRYP for a night while in town for the Big East Basketball tournament at Madison Square Garden. The location was terrific--a five minute walk to MSG. The staff was amazingly friendly. Rooms are modern and don't look like a typical hotel room which I see as a plus. We had two rooms and although they were the same price, they were a bit different (one was bigger). I like the fact that they're not cookie cutter rooms. The bathroom has a cool shower. Beds are very comfy. My husband thought the pillows were too soft but I liked them. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownBalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianett G, Front Office Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the TRYP Times Square South. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Indeed our location is perfect for guests wishing to venture out and enjoy the city via Mass Transit. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at the TRYP just 5 or so days after it opened (Feb 8-10, 2012). My husband was here for work and I played tourist! Everything was new and clean. The decor of the room was nice and comfortable - the floors were beautiful!. The staff was great and very helpful. Great happy hour at the bar!! Close to a subway station and within walking distance of Times Square, Macy's, Javits Center, Madison Square Garden and much more...
As another traveler mentioned, we were also surprised there were no ice or vending machines on the floor - this was very minor though. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MN_DOODLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianett G, Front Office Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for choosing the TRYP Times Square South. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments, and we really look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,267 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#120 of 468 in New York City
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,488 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#201 of 468 in New York City
5,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps to Times Square, High-line, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $230 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing