We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Hotel close to the MSG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP New York City Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TRYP New York City Times Square South
Ranked #183 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
flemington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Hotel close to the MSG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Nice new Hotel very close to the Garden. Spent the weekend with my wife and 4 boys at the TRYP. Found the staff very nice and professional. The rooms were clean and spacious for NYC. The location is two blocks from the Garden next to the police station, which makes it a little seedy. The lobby bar/restaurant was cool. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSL202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello M, General Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Salutations from New York City!! Thank you for the review. Its always a pleasure to see our guest taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    1,181
    275
    89
    69
See reviews for
1,216
892
117
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Amazing architecture . Interesting and helpful staff . Killer desserts . So close to jacuzzi for trade shows and events. If you don't stay here when you come to new York- you will truly miss a great hotel experience .

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbert P, Front Office Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back from a two-night stay in NYC at the brand-new TRYP hotel. The location was superb with a subway stop at the end of the street and very close to the Garden and Penn Station. Just a quick walk (10 min.) to Times Square and decent eating options within walking distance (Tick Tock Diner was a favorite for breakfast and late-night milkshakes with my kids).
The hotel itself was small and cozy but trendy and modern. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. The bathroom and shower was hands down the coolest I've ever seen in a NYC hotel--my 8-year-old son showered twice in three days which must be some kind of record.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food at the bar was good solid tapas fare (for dinner) and sangria was very yummy. Our only beef was with our neighbors on the hall who were very loud day and night and extremely inconsiderate. Our room was next to two "family rooms" and I think that was the problem (and I was traveling with two children 8 & 11!). We could hear everything in the hall and most of the (loud) conversation in the room also.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbert P, Front Office Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
What an outstanding review! We loved having you as our guest, and all of us had a great time making sure your experience was the very best. Your comments really make all of us here at the TRYP Times Square South glow with pride! Take care, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslindale, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My daughter and I just returned from 2 nights the Tryp Hotel. (2/17 2/18/2012). My original reservation was with a different hotel down the street but they wer over booked and offered me a great deal for the inconvienece. As I had never heard of the hotel before I was a little nervous. However, from the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the fromt desk staff. They gave us a large, comfortable room with a king sized bed. Every thing is brand new since they have only open 2 weeks. No refrigerator or icebucket in the room. did request ice and someone brought me up a few small cups filled with ice but other than that I have no complaints at all. The lobby has funky couches and tables to sit. There's a nice bar in the lobby also. I would stay here again when I visit NYC. The location was convient to Penn. Station and an easy walk up to Times Square and Broadway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonda, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved our stay at the TRYP! Clean, modern, BIG and comfortable rooms, courteous staff and great location! Great food! Will recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello M, General Manager at TRYP New York City Times Square South, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Jen, Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your review. We at TRYP appreciate you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#118 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,229 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#349 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#130 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP New York City Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP New York City Times Square South

Property: TRYP New York City Times Square South
Address: 345 West 35th Street, Steps TO Times Square, Highline, Etc, New York City, NY 10001-1701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $207 - $724
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRYP New York City Times Square South 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the heart of Manhattan at 345 West 35th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues, TRYP New York City Times Square South is so central, so packed with fun, and so "New York"… You will truly feel like you Own the City. This is the first TRYP hotel we open in the U.S., part of a family of exciting properties in the world’s most attractive hotspots including Berlin, Madrid, Barcelona, Buenos Aires, Frankfurt and Paris. We rebuilt and redesigned this hotel in a retro building site smack dab in the middle of major metro business centers and most of New York City's top attractions. You'll be poised to take advantage of primo shopping and dining, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the ever-exciting Madison Square Garden.Besides our spacious TRYP Rooms, TRYP New York City Times Square South features signature rooms that have become defining elements of the TRYP brand. Our Fitness rooms come with a fitness machine and complimentary workout gear. Family rooms are the ideal choice for families with small children: bunk beds for kids and an oversized bed for parents. And our Media rooms are stacked with 55" TVs, surround sound, popcorn makers, Nintendo Wii, iPod "dock," 3D glasses, Blu Ray player and a multiple media connectivity panel. We’re sure that you’ll be in awe of the grand open environment of our Plaza Central, where you can relax, meet up with colleagues or make new friends. But our attention to detail doesn’t stop there. We also keep your heart pumping with a 24x7 fitness center and we’ll help you host the event of the year with 2,100 sq. ft. of meeting space that accommodates up to 100 people. Welcome to the first Tryp Hotel in the Americas, the Tryp Times Square South Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your TRYP New York City Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing