We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Tea at the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High Tea at the Ritz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

What a way to spend a luxurious afternoon sipping tea and sherry along with an array of delighful petite fours that resemble jewels and taste incredibly delicious. The atmophere is simply beautiful and elegant and full of lovely ladies and gentlemen displaying the ultimate in class. The Ritz is truley the la grande dame of New York city.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyblackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    207
    81
    34
    15
See reviews for
333
492
55
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 10 nights recently.We enjoyed our time at the hotel.The staff were lovely.It is with great regret that I am posting this review however I feel it necessary.When we arrived home to Australia I needed to raise an issue with the hotel.I will not go into details as I do not want to cause discomfort for those involved.I wrote an email to the hotel regarding my concerns and did not receive a reply.Five emails later and three weeks since we have been home I have not heard back from the hotel.What a disappointment that the hotel will not address my concerns.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Jane255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

As a former New Yorker, I am very choosy when selecting a hotel in the city. First and foremost, this is honestly a wonderful hotel and I think the Ritz staff here is second to none. While I've visited the hotel before many times (former restaurant that is no longer there, La Prairie Spa, tea in the hotel lobby), I stayed in the hotel for the first time this past weekend.

A disclaimer: I was treated for the weekend (courtesy of my mother in law) and did not pay for the room. I have no idea what our room rate was (nor do I want to know!) and I am sure that if I was paying out of pocket I would stay elsewhere...for example, I think the Ritz Battery Park seems to be a much better deal.

Our room: We had a very decently sized room with a king bed and partial Central Park views (upgrade courtesy of booking through American Express). Allow me to digress...I have complained about the Ritz Rewards system in prior reviews; we are Silver members (staying at least 10 nights a year in Ritz properties) and my in-laws are Gold members. All of our amenities during this stay were provided through Amex and we did not receive anything due to our Ritz Rewards status. Every time we've asked the front desk about this, their response is that it's a new system, they don't know who is what tier at check-in, etc. I have even been told at other properties that having Silver status "means nothing." Regardless, the room was lovely and I have no complaints.

The location: If you want to shop, this is the place to stay. The hotel is a very easy walk from 57th and Fifth (aka Mecca), where you'll find Bergdorf Goodman and the other usual suspects. It's also an easy walk up Madison Avenue (better shopping than on 5th and much fewer tourists). It's also walking distance to the Time Warner building. Obviously, it's across from Central Park, which is a huge plus except for the carriage horses that line up directly across from the hotel (it is my personal belief that the carriage rides should be stopped for animal welfare reasons, so this might not bother others).

The restaurant (BLT): We received complimentary daily breakfast at the hotel, which here is at the adjacent BLT Market. I generally like BLT restaurants, but I am not a huge fan of this one. Breakfast was fine, although I certainly would not eat there if it wasn't free, as there are typical Ritz prices for very average fare (think $40 for a continental breakfast). On the second morning we had one of the rudest servers I've ever had and it took an hour for our food to arrive, although the food services manager did step in to make things right. We also had dinner here one night (to use up daily hotel credit) and it was fine, but again probably would not have gone if we didn't have the $ to use up.

The lobby lounge: I love it in here. We had drinks and appetizers after checking out and had a wonderful hostess. Gorgeous setting, great drinks, decent (not amazing, but it will do the job) food.

The spa: "If you have the means, I highly suggest you [try the La Prairie spa]." Even if you don't book a service, hotel guests have access to the spa facilities, which includes a somewhat mediocre steam room BUT access to all the La Prairie products you could ever desire (face wash, body cream, etc.). Services themselves are quite pricey. I have had a couple of amazing facials here and a couple of very disappointing ones. Like anywhere else, it depends on who your esthetician is. But overall, it's worth it just to experience the facilities.

The staff: Great. I felt very taken care of during our stay, and any issues (poor experience with server at breakfast) were resolved expediently, although (again) I wish they would fix their Ritz Rewards system.

In sum: This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic area, but you'll pay for the privilege and there are (in my opinion) much better deals at on-par hotels to be found.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellagamba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The gracious staff at the Ritz-Carlton made my family vacation a dream. They delivered stuffed toys to the room during turn-down, along with milk and cookies. Our direct view of Central Park was fantastic for the kids, and adults, as they looked at birds, horses, buildings, etc, through the telescope provided in the room. The location was such that we walked almost everywhere, but when we needed a lift, the coutesy Lincoln Sedan was available, gratis. I will certainly stay at the Ritz, Central Park, again, even though New York has so many other good choices, this was the best for my family.

Room Tip: Central Park view a must request. Corner room or suite, if available, as well as Ritz Club level fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GREEKMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel on July 28-July30th 2011. I reserved this hotel with trepidation as it is very expensive and we spend little time actually in the room. Needless to say ,it just did not live up to the hype. The rooms are very nice and and beautiful, however they are small. The big problem i found was the hotel basically tolerates smoking in the rooms. We have allergies and the first night they had to move us to another room because of smoking in the adjacent room. The second room smelled from some horrible perfume that was sprayed to mask the smell of smoke. Low and behold our neighbor in the second room also smoked so basically our stay was miserable.The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating and explained to me that smoking is a big problem and that they fine smokers $500, but most smokers staying there don't mind paying the $500 . If you don't smoke,don't stay there ! I love the Ritz Brand and all it stands for, but for my money I think the Ritz Battery Park is better. Great service means nothing if you cannot breath in a $600 a night room. Seriously either your are non smoking or not ! They did comp one night only because I told the staff that if I were at the Hampton Inn ,They would comp my room because I was not satisfied !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbenamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Address: 50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $1,091 - $1,862
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While constantly on the cutting edge, it is timeless tradition that makes New York City a favorite destination for so many. And whether it is taking afternoon tea in Star Lounge, or joining the noontime ritual of feeding the Central Park carriage horses across the street, guests of The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park will find tradition stands elegantly proud on Central Park South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton New York City
Ritz New York City
New York City Ritz Carlton
Ritz Carlton Central Park
Ritz Carlton Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing