We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, central and great fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky, central and great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here in September 2011, and particularly enjoyed the calm, friendly atmosphere, the dewey decimal categorisation and the rooftop bar. I missed out on prosecco o'clock, but the breakfasts were nice enough, especially as included in the price. Great location. Rooms are tiny but nicely done.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,134
    568
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
495
2,132
370
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I don't usually stay in boutique hotels, but I am so happy that we stayed at the Library Hotel. The location is perfect: 2 blocks from Grand Central, walking distance to Broadway/Times Square, and a longer walk to the Hudson, Lincoln Center and Central Park. The service was AMAZING! Actually the staff was the best that I have ever experienced (and I do alot of traveling). The books all over, the wonderful breakfast and snacks, the cocktail hour-all just wonderful! I wholeheartedly recommend the Library Hotel. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pick your literary theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Library Hotel is not your average hotel; it is unique in a city that has no shortage of imagination. This is a charming, peaceful, 60-room boutique hotel at the center of all the bustle, attractions and connections most travellers seek. I grew up in New York, and our daughter lived there many years. It's wonderful to have found such a low-key, comfortable place to stay--a sanctuary of calm after a full day in New York.

So far, I have been coming here alone primarily for business or to visit extended family. The front desk personnel are remarkably welcoming, earnest and helpful, as is the doorman. I like that nobody hovers over the guests (the first time I arrived very early and was able to work quietly in the Reading Room until my meeting), but if you ask for something (an early cup of coffee in your room) it's at the door in minutes.

The rooms are small yet beautifully arranged, so that they feel more efficient than cramped to me. This is New York, where space is at a premium; if the tradeoff is an intimate hotel with a variety of small, library-related public spaces and an unusual range of free amentities (including excellent wi-fi), that seems a decent deal. The bedding is of high quality, and the bathrooms are modern and well-appointed. Even the warm presence of books in the rooms once led me to a title I might not otherwise have noticed.

If you are coming into Manhattan via Amtrak and Penn Station (34th Street), it's easy to take the Subway one stop to Times Square (42nd Street), where you get the "S" shuttle across town to Grand Central (also 42nd). The Library Hotel is on 41st Street at Madison. From the hotel you can walk to an amazing array of New York attractions; if not, the subway hub at Grand Central is within minutes of the front door. For solo travellers who decide against venturing out to dine on a given evening, Madison and Vine, connected to the hotel, is convenient.

Yes, the Library Hotel is pricey, but not out of line for Manhattan. They also have significant special deals that are worth watching. This hotel seems to genuinely care about its guests.

Room Tip: New York City has street noise, but rooms on 41st Street seem fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egblines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here in Feb 2012. I can highly recommend this hotel. Nice but small rooms, good service and great location at Madison Ave. close to Grand Central. The breakfast was good but basic and the free wine and cheese in the afternoon in the Reading room was a nice touch. When I go back to New York with my wife I going to stay at the Library again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars10_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

If you want subtle elegance without the anonymous, standardized "hotel feel", comfort and absolute cleanliness, a sense of total safety, a great location two minutes' walk from the magnificent Central Sation and the impressive New York Public Library, about ten minutes from Time Square), excellent value for money, feeling you're in the centre of the centre of New York without the noise and stress...look no more! It's the Library hotel!
My special mention for the excellent (free all day long) espresso - it beats even some I've had in Italy!

Room Tip: My room on 9th floor was very quiet, although just opposite the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauralaRossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 299 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#5 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $466 - $872
Hotel Class:4 star — Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Library Hotel boasts over 6000 hand-selected books organized by the Dewey Decimal System. With a very central midtown Manhattan location, the hotel is within walking distance of The New York Public Library, Grand Central Terminal, The Empire State Building and Times Square, to name just a few. Take advantage of The Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet and evening wine and cheese reception in our Reading Room. Cappuccino, water, fruit, cookies and pastries are available in this space for our guests 24 hours a day. Also included with your reservation is complimentary WiFi and passes to the nearby New York Sports Club. Visit our indoor and outdoor rooftop, Bookmark’s Lounge, for literary themed cocktails and small plates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Library Hotel New York City
The Library Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing