We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #132 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for the first time, and we were extremely happy with everything. We stayed in a Superior Queen room, which was perfect for the price. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice, reasonably sized and comfortable the room was. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We had a problem with noisy neighbors very early in the morning, and after we called the front desk to complain they immediately took care of it. The location was perfect, with plenty of wonderful authentic restaurants within walking distance. Rest assured we will be staying there on our next visit, as well as recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,843
    1,053
    279
    106
    55
See reviews for
595
1,380
219
600
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Recently my daughter and I stayed here, and it was perfect. The room was well appointed with two very comfortable beds - great linens. We loved the heavy robes provided! And the surprise was the breakfast in a designated cozy room - marvelous muffins and fresh fruit, followed with an amazing treat at the end of the day - wine and cheese in the same room. Perhaps this was due to the fact that they were renovating the lobby (almost completed when we were there - very beautiful). And, lastly but definitely not least important was the staff. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. It made my first visit to NYC the best.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet - such a surprise for a large city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cummington,ma
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I was very happy with my second visit to this grand hotel last week. Modern touches can't cover up the "bones" of this beautiful old building. A sweeping marble staircase, ceiling design and molding from a century gone by and thick, thick walls. From the valet at the curb who seamlessly dealt with my car to the reception desk to the "check-up" call 15 minutes after I ascended to my room, I was made to feel like a respected guest. The linens were crisp and towels were plush. I slept like a baby. Thank you, Hotel Chandler.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p.zindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWRobertson, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Yes, there is nothing like the beautiful traditional features still on show at Hotel Chandler!

Thank you for your kind review and for mentioning all the benefits of staying with us.

We hope you will indeed return and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,

MR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I have stayed here now 5 times and just love the location and this hotel, yes there was construction going on this visit but I was advised ahead of time, they compensated with continential breakfast and wine and cheese a very nice touch, yes rooms are small but they have everything you need, compared to what you are paying it is a great price and the room has everything you need. The staff are very helpful but need to be on agreement on their prices, 1 person quoted us $50 a day for parking in actual fact it was only $40

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmadcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel. The weekend price is very good for manhattan. The less expensive rooms are small but the bed is comfortable, sheets and bathrobes are Frette, and the shower was cool with an overhead head. We messed up on the computer reservation and got a much more expensive room then we meant to. They upgraded us to a great room but we didn't want to spend that much anyhow and the desk quickly changed our reservation to the less expensive room. They are mid constructing a new restaurant which will be a nice convenience but continental breakfast was high quality. After six on Friday there is street parking or they will put you in a garage. Subways a few blocks away and cabs plentiful.

Room Tip: Pay more. All rooms are quiet and set back from the street. No views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gattica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#146 of 467 in New York City
2,591 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#42 of 467 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
2,252 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#159 of 467 in New York City
916 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $258 - $604
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing