We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,558)
Filter reviews
7,558 results
Traveller rating
1,265
2,425
1,811
1,092
965
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,265
2,425
1,811
1,092
965
Show reviews that mention
All reviews columbus circle library bar sky terrace central park rooms are small lincoln center trendy hotel subway station times square warner manhattan avenue broadway
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 7,558 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let me start by saying, this is not a bad review in the least. The hotel was a very nice, clean and efficient stay for the one night we were here before our cruise. That being said, there are some interesting things to note about this hotel that helped make this an extremely memorable stay. The first is the dark but cozy lobby with is comically large front desk. The concierge who checked us in was located at the very far end of the desk. He was delightfully good at his job and welcoming. The elevators have a decidedly European feel and are not for the claustrophobic at heart. The hallway is decorated in a very modern, bordering on Hollywood penal facility, manner with neon green doors with bright lights highlighting them. This gave the added effect of forming a gateway to hell nightlight effect at night. This perfectly paired with disturbingly haunted sounds emanating from the rooms heating system.

The room was shocking small but again very efficiently laid out. Everything you need was within an arms reach. One of the noteworthy features is the large floor to ceiling voyeuristic/exhibitionistic window which allowed for complete viewing of the bathroom from the bed. There is a gauze-like curtain for those wanting the privacy of being silhouettes. It is also worth mentioning that those with inseam greater than 30” are going a fun time sitting on the toilet and even greater fun attempting to stand back up without whacking your forehead on the wall. Out of curiosity I attempted to measure the distance between the wall and the toilet with a sheet of 8.5 x 11 paper and it would not fit lengthwise. So there is about 10” of clearance between the bowl and the wall. The sink, otherwise know as the arm rest, does a wonderful job at leaving bruises on the arm when you whack it reaching for toilet paper. If you are broad shouldered like me, you must enter the bathroom sideways as yours shoulders will hit both sides of the pocket door. This is smart addition to the room because there is no space in the room for a swinging door. The shower with its voyeuristic window is deceptively roomy. The water pressure was nice. The only downsides would be that the curtain whose only purpose seems to be to keep the toilet paper dry when you shower gets a bit clingy and our shower head could use some viagra. All in all it was a pleasant shower experience. As an added benefit, if you close the pocket door and your eyes, the bathroom becomes an opulent steam shower.

Pack lightly for this room because large luggage, which we happened to have with us for our cruise, does not fit very well in this room.

The bed which seemed to made just large enough to be shoehorned into room was a bit firm for my taste but was comfortable. Although sleep was difficult with the loud noises outside our 9th story room. Due mostly to a window with more drafts than the NFL and only an extremely inefficient wooden blind that did little for blocking noise and even less for blocking light. Which may not necessarily be a bad thing in the middle of the night. Between the window and the gateway to hell like door glow a nightlight was not necessary. This is important because navigating from the bed to the bathroom in the middle of the night was perilous to your toes due to the narrow walkway. The window does also function as a type of clock because one can easily tell what time of day it is from the smell of the cooking foods below. There was a tempting burger small for evening and a French Toast and bacon smell for the morning. But for those that like to sleep past sunrise bring an eye mask because otherwise, if you able to sleep through the increasing din of the city, the room is quickly flooded with light which is amplified by the large mirrors on either side of the bed. This had the added benefit of making an alarm clock completely unnecessary.

Again, broad shouldered people beware, the TV, which is mounted in the middle of one of the side wall mirrors, gets mad when you bump it on the way back to the bed in the wee hours and will not cut off easily without the remote, which is inconveniently located on the opposite side of the room. But then again, that did serve as a point of great amusement to my girlfriend.

With all of this, I will say, this hotel was extremely clean, well appointed and will go down as one of my most memorable, in a good way, hotel stays. And I will recommend it for those needing a place to stay for a short trip to NYC.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hudson New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback and rating. We want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm 6ft7, I literally couldn't sit down on the toilet seat. It was too close to the wall. I'm fine with small, this is NYC after all, but this was something else. No view from the room, apart from a ventilator.

The service wasn't great either. When I complained they couldn't do anything. Apparently all other 865 rooms were taken. Mmmhmmm...

Burger in the restaurant was fine. Expensive but fine. 30 dollars total.

The library bar was cool, and the outside area too. Not much of a view though. The gym was good, only one other person there and equipped for the basic workout.

Check-in was fine but nothing special. Two lines and we got through pretty quickly. Easy to check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertgF332MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hudson New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hudson New York, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations during your visit. We appreciate your candid comments and will learn from them to help us improve in the future. Please know that your feedback has been shared with the broader team and will be addressed immediately.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, lots of dining and drinking options in the hotel and nearby, and the hotel is in a great location - easily accessible to the subway. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were tidy (albeit, tiny) and overall experience was great.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlinriddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hudson New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hudson New York, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit! To us, comfort and service are just the beginning. At sbe, we strive to curate memorable moments and create destinations at each of our properties. You taking the time to share your experience means a lot to me and the rest of the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was small and bathroom even smaller, which was fine as we knew before we booked this would be the case.
The shower doesn’t have any privacy though so be sure you don’t mind your companion seeing you naked! There is a white see through curtain but it doesn’t do much. The air con is too noisy and behind the headboard of the bed! But having the window open didn’t cool us down and again, too noisy. You get charged for “free” WiFi (lol) and you can’t get a seat anywhere in the garden or lobby because it’s open to everyone in NYC and apparently they are more important than hotel guests.
We sat in the bar for a drink with our books as it was the only place to sit and were just watched the whole time as if we were doing something suspicious or wrong and the staff were rude to us so we went back to our room.
The room did the job, it was basic for our stay in New York - just a place to lay our heads after a day out sight seeing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TwinkleMcSprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hudson New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hudson New York, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations during your visit. We appreciate your candid comments and will learn from them to help us improve in the future. Please know that your feedback has been shared with the broader team and will be addressed immediately.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the lobby is absolutely beautiful but thats about it!
when we arrived the lobby was full of angry screaming people who had been waiting for their rooms for hours (4 pm)

room small, dark and smelly, good bed, the first thing i saw was a cockroach.
shower/toilet soo small you sit with your legs ín the shower .

the airco made so much noice you couldn't hear yourself think if you turned it on.
people and the reception very unfriendly and crumpy

and then the breakfast, far too expensive (28 plus tax) for what you got because it had no quality plus no variety but eating of plastic in these days with all the plastic issues going on, incredible

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo I, Manager at Hudson New York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hudson New York, and taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations during your visit. We appreciate your candid comments and will learn from them to help us improve in the future. Please know that your feedback has been shared with the broader team and will be addressed immediately.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews