We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Kitchenette in NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Benjamin
Ranked #74 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kitchenette in NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this luxurious all suites hotel in the heart of Manhattan. Beautiful lobby exudes old world charm, professional and courteous staff, impeccably clean room. Decorated sumptuously with an eclectic mix of traditional furniture updated with modern touches: room felt fresh and new. Kitchenette was beautifully appointed with granite and pretty white colonial cabinetry and french doors. Small fridge has room for your small snacks. Microwave, coffee machine. Elegant white marble bathroom with glass and chrome detailing. Shop for food just a block away and enjoy a few "home cooked meals" during your stay (save a bundle too) Restaurant in house currently run by a celebrity chef of iron chef renown and offers an exciting and inspired table. Work out room. Quiet neighborhood. Plenty of cabs and a great subway just one block north. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the avenue if you want to trade complete quiet for sunlight and views. The one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CjayNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear cjaynyc,

Wow you covered it all for us Thanks!! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Benjamin. Thanks for pointing out the high service levels, my team reads trip advisor everyday and they proudly forward me all of the reviews that specify the service they provide.
Mmuch appreciated, hope to host you at The Benjamin again soon.

My best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    662
    231
    82
    48
See reviews for
646
765
155
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The wonderful gem of a hotel is my new favorite hotel.
The entire staff made my family feel like home, my eight year old called the hotel our apartment in the city.
The pillow bar was great, pick from a huge variety of pillows!
The bath was luxurious, no detail was overlooked.
They even provided special robes for the kid.
There are tons of great places to eat,including the national attached that has the best breakfast .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear robcoppock,

Thank you, You are our new Favorite guests!!!! Your kind words will be shared with my entire team. Thank you sincerely with sharing your positive thoughts about The Benjamin Hotel on trip advisor. Hope to see you and your family back at The Benjamin really soon.

My best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My Mother and I stayed at the Benjamin this past weekend and all I can say is outstanding. What makes this hotel really special is the amazing service you get from the doormen to the check in staff to Sarah the amazing conceirge. The rooms are all a little different it seems and given the colours (neutral, whites and beiges I can imagine that customers have complained about the stains on the carpets) but really..... its miniscual. We got upgraded to a suite which was lovely. I enjoyed the location, the food and generally a very personable experience in a city where personable doesn't always exist. Hats off to the Benjamin staff, I had a great time. Thank you.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stix14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Stix 14,

Thank you so much for that great review. It makes me so proud that the service our staff provided is what stuck out the most to you during your stay. Comments such as those mean so much to us as my staff prides itself on making people happy.

Thanks
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hill, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Thank you to everyone that took time to write a positive review for the Benjamin Hotel. I have reservations for April 5-9 to meet my son for a long weekend. My son is in the Air Force and I haven't seen hime for over a year. Your comments gave me confidence that I have selected the right hotel for our first visit to "the big apple". I will let you know how it goes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lezlei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Lezlei Y

Thank you for trusting The Benjamin to host what I am sure will be a wonderful visit with your son in New York Please feel free reaching out to me directly at the hotel so I may extend any courtesies necessary for a wonderful trip. I hope to get the chance to meet you and thank you both for the sacrifices you and your family make to protect the freedom of the American people.

My very best,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have just returned to The Benjamin for a short business trip. I reserved a last-minute deal and the price was extraordinary considering the service. Unfortunately, the reservation was made for the wrong night and upon arrival I was disappointed to learn the hotel was full. Rather than turn me away the hotel staff (Richard and David) refunded me for the incorrect booking I had made and found me a room in the sister hotel the Affinia 50. I was given a huge apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 balconies at a ridiculously low rate. I then had to extend a further night and The Benjamin staff once again rallied around to find me a perfect room at a great rate. I can honestly say I will never stay anywhere else in New York on any future trip. I am only disappointed they have no sister hotel in Washington DC where I often stay. My thanks go to Richard and David on reception and Chris at the National Bar.

Room Tip: Visit often and you'll get special treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobs1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#84 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#47 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#86 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $288 - $737
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing