We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Elegance”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #57 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Contemporary Elegance”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My family ended an east-coast college tour for my daughter with a weekend in NYC. The Muse was an elegant hotel at a reasonable price. Great location in the theater district so we could walk to dinner and a show. It was clean, quiet (imagine that!) and very comfortable. Our room was unexpectedly large. We could control the temperature (very important to me) and it had all the amenities I require: shampoo, conditioner, lotion, shower cap and blow dryer. There were also robes, slipper-socks and an umbrella. The bar had a nice selection of wines and the food was good. Overall, a happy experience and a gem in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    821
    181
    92
    38
See reviews for
691
1,246
117
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My wife and I spent this past weekend in NYC to see some shows, enjoy some good food and just enjoy hanging out in NYC for a few days. We chose the Muse for its location, price and our past, positive history with Kimpton Hotels....it was our first visit to The Muse. Overall we were extremely happy with everything about the hotel. The staff, the rooms, the convenient restaurant and bar adjacent to the lobby (Nios)...there is substantial construction going on in close proximity to the hotel although we were not bothered by it on the 18th floor. Frankly, typical NYC with lots of construction and repair going on around the city.

The Muse is a great spot as it is close to Broadway shows, restaurant row, Central Park etc. We will return again and highly recommend The Muse for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and away from 46th Street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Brysully,

Hello and thank you for a great review of The Muse! I'm happy to hear you've had so many positive experiences with Kimpton hotels that you decided to give us a try. We are so excited to have you back for another stay and hope you will return soon.
Best Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location in midtown, convenient to the shows and restaurant row. The furnishings were a bit eclectic, but the bed and linens were very comfortable. I was originally mis-assigned to a Deluxe room, which was relatively small and tight. When I informed guest services that I had reservations for a Premier Room, they quickly and pleasantly re-assigned me to the appropriate room type. The room was much more open and roomy.

Construction noise can be heard from time to time, but at least on the 14th floor where I was located, it can easily be canceled by setting the thermostat fan to the constant on position.

The hotel restaurant was small, but service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjc2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for 6 nights #1506. Loved location and Decoration, bed and linen is fantastic!!

I`m not one to go into details, however really need to work on Guest Service, Front Office was very poor with attitude for every single inquiere,to the poit I did not ask for any information regarding Hotel Services or New York.
Costruction All day long, and no one well tell you so at booking time.

Trendy and Chique does not = poor attitude.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholas g, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Paul Lisbon,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Muse Hotel and also taking the time to reply about your visit.

We do apologize about the construction, but unfortunately it is completely out of our control. We do however try to accommodate all guest needs when it comes to the construction noise and place them in the hotel based on individual needs.

That however does not justify “very poor attitude” and these matters will be looked into personally to insure they are not repeated.

Please reach out to me directly on your next trip back to NYC, so we can show you what we at Kimpton pride ourselves on and that’s Customer Service!

Thank you again for your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We've stayed at the Muse many times. However, since they started the construction, it is very noisy and very difficult to sleep. The work starts at 0630 every day but Sunday. This last time, we asked to stay in a room the farthest from the construction - but that didn't help. We are torn about whether to stay there again until the construction is over. Nice place, great staff - just noisy and tough to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicholas g, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello DogWorld,

First I would like to thank you for choosing The Muse hotel for your recent visit to NYC.

Yes, unfortunately we cannot control the construction and do apologize of the discomfort it may have brought you during you recent stay. Please don’t be turn on whether or not to stay with us again. Next time you decide to make a trip back to NYC feel free to reach out to me directly and I will personally find proper accommodations within side our hotel to better fit your needs.

See you soon,
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,961 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,354 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $293 - $775
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing