We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!!!”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #133 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I really, really loved Dream Downtown NYC!! My husband and I were celebrating my 32nd birthday with a "party like it's 1999" trip to NYC and this hotel fit right in with that theme. The location is phenomenal. The 14th street subway station is right on the corner so you can get anywhere pretty quickly. The hotel is located right between Chelsea and the Meatpacking District so there are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel itself doesn't look like much on the outside but when you go in it's very hip and modern decor with low lighting, low seating, and 2 bars in the lobby. Clearly, it's a place to party, not sleep. The receptionist at check in was very nice, she explained the hotel's policies to us and got us settled in our room right away. We were on the 3rd floor in room 321 - almost at the end of the hall so a good distance from the elevator. Our room was very cool, I was worried about the size from reading the website (275 sq ft!!) but I found it to be spacious enough for 2 adults with a lot of luggage. The decor again was modern, hip and sexy. It's all silver walls and mirrored doors, you can clearly see the outline of someone in the shower if you're sitting on the bed. The flat screen TV had a message scrolling across it welcoming us to our room by name when we walked in. Our large porthole windows looked down onto the the pool/"beach" area. I was hoping to visit the pool/"beach" during our stay but it was just too cold for me to venture out there. Anyway the view was nice. We visited the penthouse bar early one evening, just as the sun was setting. There weren't many people up there but the view was fantastic! We took several photos. We didn't stay for a drink because, again, the temp was a little too low for me to hang out, but I'm sure it's amazing in the summer when it's nice and hot. I read some of the other posts before I reserved a room that mentioned the noise on the 11th floor so I specifically requested a room on a lower floor that was not near the elevator. No problem with noise at all and I slept like a baby. I can see how someone on a business trip or with kids might be disappointed in this property. It is not the place for either one of these types of travelers but I think that is pretty clear when you look at the hotel's website. This is a good place for young couples who are looking to have a good time and groups of singles (bachelors and bachelorette parties). I would highly recommend it to those groups but I would tell my parents and my brother (who is married with 2 kids) to stay far, far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a mid floor (3-7) and away from the elevator to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifixkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,063 - 3,067 of 3,636 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room here last minute. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel's atmosphere is very hip, trendy, and chic. At the time, there was also a red carpet event being hosted by the hotel, but this did not deter from the hotel's superb service. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in! We stayed in a Gold level room which had a great sound system for our ipod, very cool and elegant furniture, and an extremely comfortable bed. The room was absolutely gorgeous, we even had a view of the Empire State Building! All in all, we cant wait to return to the Dream Hotel and we highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmufson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I stayed at Dream Downtown on a recent business trip in NYC in May. It was very well situated in the heart of the meatpacking district. The hottest restaurants, bars, clubs, and shops were in close proximity. Typically boutiquey hotels are all show/design and no substance; ohh did the Dream Downtown prove me wrong. The service was remarkably incredible as they pay a tremendous amount of attention to the little things that high-end hotels fail to do. I will definitely be back on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Not a quiet hotel. But staff was nice and room very, very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels-From-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

A excellent girls weekend location. I came here with my sisters to celebrate her birthday and it was a weekend well spent. The staff was excellent, very friendly and accommodating. The front desk was filled with eager workers happy to please. The rooms were nice, modern and filled with high tech gadgets. The gym looked very nice as well even though I did not actually workout in it. The pool was very chic and a nice place to hangout during the day, though I need to warn you it gets very hot between two reflecting buildings so stay hydrated!!

My only complaint is the bartender at PHD, he had an attitude, he did not know how to make a Caipirinha and he argued about what it is supposed to be to a group of Brazilians.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#153 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
676 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#183 of 470 in New York City
340 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,379 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#83 of 470 in New York City
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $325 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing