We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat overpriced and it would help if you speak Spanish”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This review is written from the perspective of a non Spanish-speaking guest, so it has a definite "slant". Google Translate on the reception computer is a huge bonus because some reception staff don't speak any English. Staff are friendly enough but not we were not able to communicate well because we didn't speak Spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&BTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franckhermann518, Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon J&BTauranga,

We’re sorry to hear you had trouble communicating with some of our staff members. NYC is a melting pot of diverse cultures and backgrounds, our staff definitely encompasses that. We hope that we can welcome you back next time you’re in NYC!

Best,

Franck Hermann
Operations Manager
Hotel Americano
fhermann@hotel-americano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Americano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

My husband and I went on a weekday to use the rooftop pool and have cocktails and food poolside. At $40 for a day pass each this is a great price for NYC! We have a bottle of bubbly and enjoyed great food at reasonable prices. I hate advertising something in a weekday hidden charm (was not crowded when we were there but weather may have played a part as it later rained) but the staff there and the hotel deserve the praise. The front desk Manager Matt was great. He followed up twice and was so pleasant to deal with! The waiter Antonio and the pool life guard/ manager Clarisse were excellent in service. Couldn't be happier. We will DEFINITELY go again!

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank TBWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franckhermann518, Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Bonjour Wendy!

Wow Thank you for the High Five! We are so happy that you got to enjoy our rooftop with your husband! Matt, Antonio, and Clarisse are three of our star team members who always make sure that our guests enjoy their time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Franck Hermann
Operations Manager
Hotel Americano
fhermann@hotel-americano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

OK this is definitely on the hip side. There is a cool factor in the stunning rooftop resto and pool. The rooms are not like any you may have seen. Low-lying beds, squishy chairs, etc. But if you are lucky enough to get the studio, the rooms are a real treat. The staff is young, friendly and helpful. The area is on the up and up. You are right opposite Zaha Hadid's amazing condo building and next to the High Line. It has a sexy appeal that keeps me coming back

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franckhermann518, Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Bonjour Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to share the kind words! We are absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed your stay, but appreciated the details and even the neighborhood! We would be honored to make this your home away from home!

Please reach out to me directly for future bookings – we hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Franck Hermann
Operations Manager
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

I do not recommend this hotel. Although the staff was pleasant the property is newer, the design is uncomfortable. The bed is on the floor, not on a bed frame. The rooms are small, even for NYC standards.
Overall, for the same price, you can find a normal hotel with a bed on a bed frame.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank toddf400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franckhermann518, Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Bonjour Todd,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff! We are saddened to hear that the overall design of the rooms was uncomfortable and not your style. I do agree that our design is not for everyone, but we do have suites which I believe would make a world of difference and provide you with a large spacious room.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back next time you’re in NYC!

Thank you!

Franck Hermann
Operations Manager
Hotel Americano
fhermann@hotel-americano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

If you like boutique type and sleek design you will love this hotel. I stayed here with my daughter, and there was a little too much partying on the rooftop, but during the day we enjoyed lounging at the pool. Friendly staff, room was super clean and we got a free update. I would go again, bring my earplugs though :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie0146287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franckhermann518, Manager at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Bonjour Debbie,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed our ambiance and unique design features. We do apologize that you were disturbed by the events happening in our venues. We always try to be on top of our events as far as the music level, and always treat our hotel guests as priorities. We hope to welcome you back next time you find yourself in NYC!

Best Regards,

Franck Hermann
Operations Manager
Hotel Americano
fhermann@hotel-americano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 468 in New York City
3,574 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
632 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
654 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,826 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#180 of 468 in New York City
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $355 - $862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing