We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,794)
Filter reviews
1,794 results
Traveller rating
1,129
449
136
47
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,129
449
136
47
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor lounge corner suite new york floor to ceiling windows boutique hotel wine and cheese wine hour grand central station grand hyatt mini bar coffee machine great boutique lounge area great room midtown manhattan street noise nyc hotels
Filter
Updating list...
1,460 - 1,465 of 1,794 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for nine nights at the end of August, beginning of September. As we travel to NYC a lot we have stayed in a good few hotels, but the Hyatt 48 Lex is by far the best one we have stayed in!!
The staff are so polite and professional and always had a smile and a greeting for us. The Hotel is in an excellent location for Grand Central Station, Central Park, Times Square etc. The rooms are large, spotless clean with huge comfy beds and great bathrooms with a walk in shower!! The floor to ceiling windows not only give you excellent views of NYC but allow excellent natural light into the rooms (which is hard to get in some NYC hotels). I also must mention that the windows had the best sound proofing ever!!

There was a turn down service in the evening which was always nice to come back to, the newspapers in the morning were excellent and the wet bar and mini fridge came in very handy. The air conditioning was excellent too and although we had it on all the time, we could barely hear it.

We will certainly return to this hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a top class hotel in an excellent location with excellent staff!!!

Thank you Hyatt!! We really enjoyed our stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

feejam-

Thanks for all your kind words, and it was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again soon...

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

First time at this Hyatt property... as a Diamond HGP, was upgrade to a corner suite that had a diagonal floor to ceiling window looking south down Lexington...an outstanding view. Everything was new, modern, even had a 'wine bar' in the room (with prices to match). Coffee @ the 2nd floor lounge was fantastic and always available. But with only 2 elevators to service the entire hotel, be prepared to wait... it was frustrating at times... what should have been a 5 min trip to the lounge to get coffee often took close to 15mins round trip. Service from the staff was outstanding, although i didn't have any unusual requests. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Lexiington Brass I think it's called) was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

pmmnc,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards,

Brian Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I recently stayed here for 4 night, and was very happy with our accommodations. The lobby is very small, but since most people don't spend a lot of time there, it is not an issue for me. The rooms we stayed in was big, roomy and comfortable. You have your own little wine bar, a coffee maker,refrigerator and a dishwasher. There are two flatscreen TVs, one by the sofa, and one by the bed. The staff was very helpful, and friendly.
My only complaint would be the $14.95 charge for internet in the room. That in itself is bad enough, but I was told it was per device! There is however a computer and a printer to use for free in the lounge on the second floor. Here they also serve complimentary tee and coffee. They have a espresso/cappucino maker, which we enjoyed thoroughly every morning.
The location was great, close enough to walk to the theatre district, and only a couple of blocks away from a subway stop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Hello SanDiegoSoccermom!

Thank you for staying with us, we truly are grateful for your business.

In response to your WIFI concerns, may I suggest signing up for Hyatt Gold Passport. (Loyalty Program) After 5 eligible stays or 15 eligible nights in any Hyatt, members receive comp WIFI at all Hyatts.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Brian C. Twomey
Assistant General Manager
brian.twomey@hyatt48lex.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

So...just returned from our weekend in NYC. We picked the Hyatt 48 Lex because I had Hyatt points to use. What a bargain. Yes the lobby is small. Did it hinder our stay? Not in the slightest. Staff was very helpful. Called when our room was ready.

The room...we were on the 14th floor in a queen room. It was off to the left at the end of the hall. We loved the location as it was very quiet at all times. The room itself is huge by NYC standards. Very comfortable bed...great amenities.

The 2nd floor lounge is a great added benefit. Saved some cash on coffee in the AM. Don't count on this being a large breakfast as only pastries were served but it did have a great coffee machine.

We did have the opportunity to visit Lexington Brass for cocktails. LOVED it. The bartender was amazing. It felt like we were real New Yorkers...

I would want everyone to stay here but then we couldn't stay here again. It was perfect. Don't hesitate...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

JuliMcG-

We are truly grateful for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed all that the hotel had to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I just checked out of the new Hyatt 48 Lex this morning.

The hotel is nice. The lobby is extremely small, bordering on uncomfortably tight when there are more than a few people in the 'room'.

There is a 'lounge' on the second floor that has complimentary coffee and such. I liked this area as a place to escape. Very nice.

The rooms are very contemporary, very nice. Layouts and floorplans are a bit odd...and seem to vary greatly from room to room.

The feel of this hotel mirrors that of a new Andaz, albeit much smaller.

Although my stay here was 'fine', i have to admit that i would probably prefer to return to the Andaz on 5th next time. Rooms are larger, lobby and facilities more extensive...similar location.

Tommy at the front desk was the strongest asset to this hotel. He was always attentive, friendly, and went out of his way to make you feel welcome. I must say that other staff didnt meet the standard that he set at 'check in'. They were all fine, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

JamesE339-

Thanks for staying with us. You are absolutely correct, Tommy is an outstand associate and we are very lucky to have him. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brian Twomey
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews