We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,139)
Filter reviews
7,139 results
Traveller rating
4,558
1,880
461
153
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,558
1,880
461
153
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new york the red flame diner gaby restaurant times square chrysler building separate shower room service turn down service fifth avenue bryant park late check grand central station luxury hotel high floor bottle of champagne quiet street hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 7,139 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We love Sofitel Hotels....stayed at the Sofitel in Athens and in Hanoi and loved them both, so when we came to NYC we chose the Sofitel. Friendly, professional service from the doorman to the concierge, front desk to the maids...top notch. The lobby is welcoming, the rooms most comfortable. Loved our bed...very comfortable. All amenities are provided...hair dryer, iron, mini bar, soaps, etc. Wifi is free (up to three devices) Elevators quick, everything super clean and in good working order. NY Times and Wall Street Journal available each morning. Absolutely loved the mid-town location...close to everything. When we come again, we will definitely stay here

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank busconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Sofitel isn't trendy, but it's clean and it's conveniently located for tourists looking to enjoy the usual mid-town sites in NYC. The suites we selected were above standard, very comfortable, and service was pleasant. No issues, and a great value in NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was comfortable, quiet and the shower excellent, I could have stayed in there for hours. However, for the price (an average of over 450/night), this hotel doesn't quite hit the mark that it could and should.

Lots of little issues: The tv froze up for a second or two about every five or ten minutes due to wifi issues, the housekeeping was asked twice to not come to the room and then either came, or called and asked (during a nap) if they really truly shouldn't come, a wake up call was mixed up from pm to am, the doorman wasn't too quick to get the door, bit of a blase attitude.

Our company will be coming back to NYC with a larger group later in the year, so will try a different hotel.

Great location, though, you are a 7 minute walk from Times Square, so if you're seeing a Broadway show or want to explore the southern part of Central Park, this location was ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear M O,

Thank you for your feedback. Providing impeccable services and facilities to our guests is our utmost priority, and I sincerely apologize for these inconveniences and inconsistencies. I take your notes very seriously and we have addressed your comments with our department heads. Again, we do appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We find it invaluable in order to constantly improve the experience of staying here for our guests.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We went here for our Godson's 18th Birthday and could not have been more pleased with the location. Everything is within an easy walk. We made use of the room service, and my Godson is a fussy eater but he enjoyed all the food he ordered. This hotel is also excellently located for Broadway, which we made the most of.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mandy D,

Happy belated birthday to your Godson! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Indeed, we are centrally located in the heart of Midtown, the perfect launch-pad for seeing the top attractions in New York.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another special occasion soon.

Kind regards,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Third time staying at Sofitel in a span of more than fifteen years. This time I stayed with my family and two young children. Location is incredible and now conveniently close to Whole foods and Bryant Park, so it worked perfectly for a family with young kids. Furniture and some areas of the hotel seem a little bit outdated including the baby cot, very old school :) but the beds and bathroom with shower and bath are still incredible.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gaby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews