We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,151)
Filter reviews
7,151 results
Traveller rating
4,564
1,884
463
153
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,564
1,884
463
153
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red flame diner gaby restaurant new york times square chrysler building separate shower room service turn down service fifth avenue bryant park late check grand central station luxury hotel high floor bottle of champagne quiet street hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 7,151 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Sofitel isn't trendy, but it's clean and it's conveniently located for tourists looking to enjoy the usual mid-town sites in NYC. The suites we selected were above standard, very comfortable, and service was pleasant. No issues, and a great value in NYC.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was comfortable, quiet and the shower excellent, I could have stayed in there for hours. However, for the price (an average of over 450/night), this hotel doesn't quite hit the mark that it could and should.

Lots of little issues: The tv froze up for a second or two about every five or ten minutes due to wifi issues, the housekeeping was asked twice to not come to the room and then either came, or called and asked (during a nap) if they really truly shouldn't come, a wake up call was mixed up from pm to am, the doorman wasn't too quick to get the door, bit of a blase attitude.

Our company will be coming back to NYC with a larger group later in the year, so will try a different hotel.

Great location, though, you are a 7 minute walk from Times Square, so if you're seeing a Broadway show or want to explore the southern part of Central Park, this location was ideal.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear M O,

Thank you for your feedback. Providing impeccable services and facilities to our guests is our utmost priority, and I sincerely apologize for these inconveniences and inconsistencies. I take your notes very seriously and we have addressed your comments with our department heads. Again, we do appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We find it invaluable in order to constantly improve the experience of staying here for our guests.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We went here for our Godson's 18th Birthday and could not have been more pleased with the location. Everything is within an easy walk. We made use of the room service, and my Godson is a fussy eater but he enjoyed all the food he ordered. This hotel is also excellently located for Broadway, which we made the most of.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Paule N, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mandy D,

Happy belated birthday to your Godson! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Indeed, we are centrally located in the heart of Midtown, the perfect launch-pad for seeing the top attractions in New York.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another special occasion soon.

Kind regards,
Marie-Paule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Third time staying at Sofitel in a span of more than fifteen years. This time I stayed with my family and two young children. Location is incredible and now conveniently close to Whole foods and Bryant Park, so it worked perfectly for a family with young kids. Furniture and some areas of the hotel seem a little bit outdated including the baby cot, very old school :) but the beds and bathroom with shower and bath are still incredible.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gaby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Ok short and sweet, great hotel, great location, clean, quiet, great service, staff was fantastic especially doormen and concierge...highly recommend this hotel! Nice little gym, very secure. Walking to almost all attractions easy breezy. The bed super comfortable. 5 minute walk to grande central station, 30 min Central Park. Do it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank douglas r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews