We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, modern hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #130 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic, modern hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A very modern hotel in a great location. Rooms are very clean with comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and really helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cha_cha_cha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,500
    3,710
    795
    280
    227
See reviews for
1,534
5,083
689
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,802)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I travel to New York City twice a year and I always try to stay at a different hotel in a different part of the city. I chose Yotel, because the images and concept looked and sounded good and it was basically in Hell's Kitchen a neighborhood I wanted to walk around.

Getting to Yotel was easy. I got off the E train at the 42nd St. MTA station and walked 3 blocks down 42nd street to 10th Ave. Upon my arrival I was directed to a terminal like at an airport to check-in and was offered assistance by one of the friendly doormen/bellhops/whateve special name they had for them.

Once you check-in and recieve you RFID room key you take an elevator to "four" where "mission control" (basically a front desk) Dohyo and elevators to the "cabins" (the rooms). In this elevator you have to scan your keycard to be able to access the floors. This is done because on "four" is a dance club on most night and keeps non-guests from accessing the floors. Most of the time I was in the elevator taping my card to the sensor and nothing. A lot of people during my 4 night stay were having this issue.

The room was of course small, and I knew that going into this stay, but it is laid out nicely and the room is really functional. The matress as stated in many reviews was like a futon typ matress, or one you find at Ikea.

The free wi-fi was great and fast.

My room was not cleaned very well the next to last day I was there, the bathroom area was not touched, the garbage was not emptied only the bed was made.

The location was a further walk then I would have liked. The closest subway is the MTA terminal and if you don't want a to pay for a cab to travel thruought the city you're going to start your trip from on of the Times Square stations.

The price per night was all over the place. A low of $146.50 to a high of $263 for a Saturday night. For what you get in the room and the location I thought is was a little high. I could've had a room in the Times Square area for that price at a larger start rating with more amenities.

I the galley area on each floor contained a microwave, free purified water and ice, and a free coffee and tea. There was also a refrigerator that was based on the honor system of people not stealing anything from there.

I liked the concept of the rooms, the location is OK, but good if you want to explore Hell's Kitchen, and the rates were all over the place each night and that was with a "March Madness Special," which is not something I knew when I booked off their website. Those words appeared on my invoice at check out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Staff were very helpful from the start to the end of our holiday. Great concept, rooms although compact are not cramped and we had a great view of Manhattan.
Location is ideal for exploring the city! highly recommended.

Room Tip: take a good pair of shoes for all the walking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Recently spent 4 nights at Yotel and was very impressed. We were on the 25th floor with great views! It's a very modern hotel and the free wifi on the 4th floor is very handy. The rooms are a fair size, clean, comfortable and were cleaned every day. Loved the huge TV screen too! The toilet/shower are ok but make sure you know your partner well! There is a galley on every floor where you can get free tea/coffee/chocolate. Also a vending machine for coke, water etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I must admit that I was surprised by the price of the drinks in the bar though. My husband had a beer and I had a vodka and coke and it came to $20, which I thought was quite steep. Apparently its "the area"! The hotel is about a 10 - 15 minute walk from Times Square which is very handy. Feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top for excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMW32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A great experience from start to finish. Excellent staff. We had 2 rooms booked and were on different floors, we didn't even have to ask to change them, the staff offerred to do this and within minutes we had 2 rooms practically next door to each other. The galley on each floor was excellent, the coffee and hot chocolate tasted so good that you would never have thought it was out of a machine. The staff could not do enough for you. Security is great as you need a room key to operate the lift and their is a safe in the room. The hotel is well situated for times square and many attraction. I went with teenagers and they loved the hotel especially the robot that stores your cases. The complimentary selection of muffins is great and many breakfast palces are within a short walk away, try al fresco just 2 blocks away...they will even deliver.I highly recommend this friendly hotel.

Room Tip: just ask if the room is not what you wanted, they will happily change it if one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,080 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#62 of 468 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,922 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $211 - $599
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing