We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location, great room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #115 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Jewel, during our visit to NY, on May 2011. The location is excellent, just a few steps away from Central Park and the Times Square.We had a room on the 14th floor, facing the street. I wasn't expecting a great view, but it was pretty good, literally facing the Roquefeller Square. The room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet, when the windows were closed. The price for the room was quite competitive, considering the location and the room standards. We have the best memories from our trip and this hotel and we are really happy that we chose this hotel amongst so many others in NY. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    537
    122
    32
    35
See reviews for
359
709
124
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This tiny boutique hotel is a perfect find in NYC. Located steps away from 5th Ave, Rock Center, Radio City Music Hall, Times Square, etc. The location is tops. The hotel is modern but small. We were fortunate enough to be on the 11th floor facing Rock Center with a balcony. The balcony was a wonderful space to take in the vibe of the city! The staff was friendly. Lobby is very small. They have a small "living room" with coffee and computer station. However, head a few doors down to the Club Quarters terrace lounge, it's their sister hotel. CQ Terrace lounge is larger and you get a complimentary drink w/ your meal. Another plus of the Jewel is the bottled water...what a great idea!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for valentines week this year. The hotel is right across the street from the Rockefeller centre in the centre of Manhattan. Just a few minutes walk from the metro station and a really great diner (recommended by the hotel staff). The rooms are clean, modern and have plenty of sockets for gadget freaks like my husband. Even the bathroom has enough room to swing a cat. A rarity in city centre hotels. The rooms aren't big but they do make the most of the space available and there is a guest sitting room which even has workstations you can use and check-in on-line and print your boarding pass. A real plus. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel...I got too upset and frustrated by their reservation system. I booked a room online for 2 nights, and then wanted to ask about specials or any lower rates available possible so I wanted to talk to a live person. No answer ! called again and waited on hold listening to recordings for 30minutes! The front desk is reachable by phone but they can't help you with any reservation information. They offered to connect me to reservations, and even they came back after several minutes saying they could not get through. I will not stay at a place where you cannot reach a live person to ask a question. Also...my reservation confirmation had no link to cancel it so I HAD to call again and finally got through via a front desk person trying for me. Awful,awful....the hotel may be nice, but theres lots of other choices in manhattan and they have lost my business before i even saw the place.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank hongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here in Feb. Got a great rate booking directly thru hotel website. Parking for 2 nites was 70.00-cheaper than most hotels & only 3 blocks away-easy to get to. The hotel room was clean, decent size. The location couldn't be beat-great if you want to try to get on the Today Show background! One thing was the coffee in the 'living room'-we didn't see it out even though we were told 7;15 am-not a big deal-we just went out for breakfast, but if you like your coffee early I wouldn't count on it. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#254 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#62 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#99 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $239 - $578
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing