We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very new and clean rooms - and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #111 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very new and clean rooms - and perfect location!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great location - just a block from Rockefeller Center, and I could see Radio City from my room. Hotel room was very clean, felt very new, and like almost all boutique hotels in NY, pretty small. However I'll take "clean and new" over anything else. Free wired Internet access, too. Business office is on the 2nd floor, and they allow you to do free printing.

Ladies at the front reception were very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again. Reasonable rate for the NY market - I paid about $239/night.

Definitely get up early and try to get on The Today Show -- it's just a block away. I didn't get on TV but at least I got to shake Al Roker's hand! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amc1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    545
    128
    32
    35
See reviews for
368
723
128
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is a small hotel but if you choose a good room, you´ll enjoy it. It has a comfortable business center or living room, with complimentary cofee and tea. You leave the hotel and you are exactly in the very middle of the city, a few blocks from Times Square. You can take dinner a few meters away, in another building belonging to the hotel, and you will find a very elegant enviroment with a very nice terrace just facing the Rockefeller Center.

Room Tip: Best roomas are those facing Rockefeller Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CELIA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed over Thanksgiving 2011. As other reviews have said the location is spot on! Straight outside Rockerfeller and within walking distance to Times Square, St Patricks Cathedral, Fifth Avenue shops, Central Park... the list goes on!

Reception area is tiny but check in itself took less than five minutes. We were back out of the hotel to get something to eat within half an hour of the cab dropping us off at the front door.

Three of us shared a Queen size room which was a bit of a squeeze (1 double bed and 1 pull out sofa bed) but who wants to spend time in their room when you're in NYC!! Water bottles on every floor was a nice touch that we took full advantage of!

If you're looking for a massive hotel with bar, restaurant, concierge etc then this isn't the place for you but if you're after somewhere clean and quiet to sleep, shower and change then go for The Jewel.... you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wif and I stayed one night. The room was typically small for a Manhattan hotel. The room had a comfortable queen size bed, a desk, a chair and a small bathroom with a shower.

The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was small but nice. Our room was on the second floor near the "living room" at the back or side of the hotel. No views, which was fine for us because being at the back meant that our room was very quiet versus if we had been on the street side.

The room cost about $300 for the night which is a great price for midtown Manhattan just off Rockfeller Center. Other hotel within few blocks are luxury full service hotels that cost $600 and up per night. In Manhattan for $300 per night it is unrealistic to expect much in the way of service - you carry your own bags, park your own car if you have one, and basically check yourself in and out. If you want those types of amenities you need to stay somewhere else and spend much more money.

This was fine for us, it was clean and comfortable, and well located. I would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickypickypickyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I LOVED the location of this hotel. I could see NBC studios from my window and Rockefeller Center. The rooms were upscale and a good size for New York. Everything in the bathroom and room were very thought out given the space. The bathroom was nice although the shower was small and water pressure just okay. The bed was very, very comfortable. I loved the chilled water which was available in the hallways as well as a nice business center on the 2nd floor and washer/dryer. Did not care for the lobby which is very, very small. If you are looking for a nice lobby to have a drink and hang out, it is not the hotel for you; but overall, it was a very good experience. It is decorated on an eclectic, modern scale.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElPasoFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#255 of 467 in New York City
1,347 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#67 of 467 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#128 of 467 in New York City
439 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,299 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $301 - $567
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing