We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Neighborhood Italian”

Tre Otto Restaurant
Ranked #4,513 of 15,901 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: USD 18 - USD 65
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Carnegie Hill
Cross street: Between 97th and 98th Streets
Transit: 6 train to 96th Street. Madison and Fifth avenue bus, 96th Street stop.
Description: The Cangiano's embrace family tradition in the food business that dates back to 1919, when grandma Cangiano opened her first Salumeria, stocked with the freshest Italian products. Tre Otto was opened in 2009 by Louis and Lauren Cangiano, the 4th generation of Cangiano's providing New York with authentic Italian food prepared from family recipes. The restaurant offers a casual inspired lunch menu as well as an elegant dinner menu that reflects the best traditions of Sicilian food. In the twenty plus years that Louis and Lauren have lived in the Carnegie Hill area, they have always searched for a neighborhood Italian restaurant that felt warm and welcoming - an extension of their own home - where the food was superb and where the atmosphere was magical. They believe that you will find this at Tre Otto.
Reviewed 23 February 2015

We went with friends after visiting the Museum of the City of New York. The food was excellent, the service efficient and friendly but not rushed and the prices quite reasonable. Unlike so many restaurants in NYC there was enough space between tables so that we could actually have a conversation. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2015
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Owner at Tre Otto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Hi Stephen,

Thank you for that awesome review. I really appreciate that you found the time to review your experience. Your satisfaction really means the world to us and we hope to see you back soon.

Cheers and thank you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

We live nearby and used to frequent the old place before it burned down.
We decided to try the new bigger tre otto.
Looks nice but missing the prior coziness.
Service is good , a bit to rushed in cleaning off finished plates.
Unfortunately the food is below par. Everything tasted extremely oily which erased any menu and food creativity.
I hope they revalue their preparation of dishes .

Thank HermanG170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Owner at Tre Otto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

First I want to thank your for you honest review and encourage you to give us another try. We had just re opened about two weeks before your visit and we are still working on bringing Tre Otto up to speed. I am hoping that next time your experience will be better. Many thanks....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Great neighbor hood place and wonderful owners. Full bar and always good conversation. The menu has good Italian food for everyone from pizza to pastas and very family friendly.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hank98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Owner at Tre Otto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dearest Henry A...

I love your reviews, as always, thank you!!

L and L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

so happy this restaurant is back in business: the food is as good as I remembered it! the space is better, more ample, pretty and cozy. the bar is spacious and comfortable: you can sit and eat there too. their branzino is superb, the arancina although a little too big for an appetizer size, so good and tasty. the pizzas are all great: the dough is crisp, fresh, light. the gnocci is sensational. the staff is attentive, knowledgeable about the menu and their wine offerings and friendly. also a great spot with kids. all a very good mix: keep up at it! def recommended if you're in the neighborhood.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mkd_travelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Owner at Tre Otto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thank you for you thoughtful and wonderful review. It means the world to us that you had a great experience here. Please come again soon and again...thank you....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Unfortunately, this hidden gem suffered a fire, from which it never recovered. If the owners read this message, please let us know if and when and where you'll be opening next. Buona sera!

Date of visit: December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Owner at Tre Otto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

I came across your review recently and I wanted to tell you that we re opened! We have moved one store over into a bigger space. If you are still here in NYC, please visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tre Otto Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tre Otto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing