We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful place to stay in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metro Apartments
Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I actually didn’t expect much before arriving to this apartments hotel. It looks a bit gloomy on the internet photos but, boy, was I surprised!
The hotel has a terrific location, just 5-6 minutes walk from Times Square and right next to a subway station (on 42nd's). The apartments are newly renovated and are very pleasant on the eyes, comfortable and just shipshape! There is a fully equipped kitchenette in every apartment, cable TV and internet connection. The staff is just amazing, very kind and helpful. They're always smiling and happy to give directions or recommendations.
I'm happy that I've found this place and I'm really looking forward to visit again!

Room Tip: ask for a renuvated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    168
    75
    31
    29
See reviews for
94
143
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We just got back from a 12 night stay in room 9b. We are pretty sure that we were the 1st people to use the room, it had that lovely brand new smell when we opened the door. The studio was spacious, came with a large multi channel TV, Ipod dock and well equipped kitchen and bathroom. Great views of the city by day and night. There is construction work going on over the road but as we were out and about a great deal this was not a problem. Have to say that New York drivers do like to honk their horns, so ear plugs could still be a good idea.

The security staff were all very friendly and the check in and out was very smooth. Left our bags with them after checking out on our final morning, whilst we hit the streets for the last time.

As for the area, some previous comments indicate that the area was dangerous, I would strongly disagree. It's true that their are some homeless people to be found around the junction of 9th ave and 41st/42nd st and in the Port Authority building. However these people were no threat at all, treat them with respect as human beings and all should be fine. 9th avenue is great for food, so many different choices on offer. The Theatre Row Diner just over the road is a great breakfast option.

Very, very easy to get around from here using subway and bus service.

Room Tip: Go high for the views and ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Nothing wrong with this place. It does exactly what you want it too. It may appear tatty in the reception and lifts but the rooms are OK and they are clean. The staff were also very helpful and friendly people. Only issue was the noise from the traffic but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Good location also.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aceface77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

There are very mixed reviews of Metro Apartments, which seem largely to do with whether the guests were allocated a new or old room. The block is in the process of being renovated - floors 9, 10, 11 and 12 consist of brand new rooms, with gorgeous shower rooms, frequently balconies, large queen-sized beds with brand new linen, sparkling kitchenettes (with filter coffee machines, fridges, hobs, microwave ovens and fantastic crockery and cooking equipment), large hanging cupboards, hairdryers, and desks with phones, modems (usable via ethernet cables), and flatscreen TVs. The lower floors (floors 2-8) haven't been renovated, and are much smaller and more tired-looking. The apartments on the back of the building overlook the roads leading into the Port Authority Bus Terminal and are pretty noisy (especially if you're on the lower floors). (The rooms at the front are quite noisy too, because it's situated on a fairly busy road, but it's no more so than most hotels in NYC). So make sure that, if you're not allocated a new room, you ask immediately to change to one that has been renovated. We were initially allocated an old studio apartment, on floor 8, at the back of the building; but the office staff were very friendly and helpful and moved us without hesitation to a brand new studio apartment. In fact, the room was so new that the boiler wasn't hooked up, so there wasn't any hot water - but again, the staff were fantastic, and moved us immediately (even though it was the middle of the night when we discovered there wasn't any hot water) to a new room in which everything worked perfectly. They couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating.
I'd wholeheartedly recommend Metro Apartments - it's a fantastic location, within walking distance of much of Manhattan. For the quality of the renovated apartments, it's absolutely brilliant value - about half the price of many of the hotels in the area. But do bear in mind it's an apartment block, not a hotel - so the rooms aren't cleaned during your stay, and there isn't a restaurant, or breakfast provided. And as long as you're prepared to be tolerant of a bit of a few glitches concerned with the renovation (ie. the check-in area is currently located in a temporary office room, which is a little chaotic), then you'll have a great time. Just make sure you ask for a renovated room, situated (if possible) toward the front of the building.

Room Tip: We stayed in a newly renovated studio apartment (room 9B), at the front of the building, and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I just got back from a one night stay at the Metro Apartments. I was going on a budget and this was the right price for us. We paid $167.00 (including tax) a night which is nothing compared to all the other hotels. I'm not a super picky person and going into this I wasn't expecting a five star hotel. We just needed a place to crash for the night.

When we arrived the lobby entrance was closed and we had to enter through an alternate entrance. The man working the "front desk" was a little over dramatic. There was only one other family in the make-shift lobby with us and he was about to have a panic attack from being overwhelmed. You just have to bear with him and get past his frazzled rudeness and you'll be fine. The elevators are a little shady, only took it one and then used the stairs. This was a bit of an inconvenience since we were on the 5th floor.

The room was clean...a lot cleaner than what I was expecting considering the price. The bedding was clean with no stains and there were no mice or cockroaches in site. The bathroom was also clean, no mold, but the grout on the floor that was supposed to be white was black. We just put a towel on the floor so we didn’t have to look at it. There is a nice size mini fridge, microwave, sink, and cabinets for you to use if you are staying for a longer period of time. Everything in the kitchenette was clean as well.

Over all it was a good experience. No major problems with rodents, or bugs of any sort. The location was great, within walking distance of Time Square and Rockefeller Center. It was also easy to find, about a block from the Lincoln Tunnel. There is a bit of noise but you are statying in the city so it goes hand in hand. It wasn't extremely loud and it didn't keep us up all night. I would defiantly stay her again for a night or two. Great if you are trying to stay on a budget and aren't expecting a five star experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bak0560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#380 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#362 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Midtown
Apt 168
Apt 168
#35 of 163 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#6 of 163 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments

Property: Metro Apartments
Address: 440 W 41st St, New York City, NY 10036-6815
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in New York, this 101-room apartment hotel is near Javits Convention Center, New York, New York, United States of America, Times Square, and Broadway. Other nearby points of interest includes Empire State Building. At the Metro Apartments Hotel, you’ll discover comfortable, relaxed accommodations just minutes from Times Square, at the beginning of Hell's Kitchen and a conveniently located near the Port Authority Bus Terminal in Midtown Manhattan. Our affordable apartment hotel is a convenient alternative to the many other accommodations in New York City and is the perfect choice for your extended stay vacation. You’ll enjoy easy access to the city’s diverse neighborhoods, exciting attractions, shops and restaurants. Come discover your New York City home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing