We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,783)
Filter reviews
2,783 results
Traveller rating
1,870
592
193
82
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,870
592
193
82
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bryant park the ny public library splash suite non alcoholic beverages complimentary mini bar north tower new york hyatt points rain shower complimentary wine light switches grand central station times square the check in process rooms are large modern hotel ny standards
Filter
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 2,783 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015

The Andaz has absolutely nothing to recommend it. It's not an awful place to stay, but in a hotel-rich city, there is no reason to go there at all. The design of the hotel is cool but impractical. Very Scandinavian approach to furnishings, but no drawers to actually place any clothes in. Restaurant is tiny and not great and absolutely not kid-friendly. The bar is literally in the cellar behind an unmarked door (does the hotel not want people to find it?) and closed on Sunday. That means that the only way to get a drink on a Sunday is via your minibar - there is no other bar and room service can't serve alcohol when the bar is closed. There was also either no bellman there the entire time or he was just incredibly unhelpful because we didn't get any help with luggage or finding a cab. Staff is fine but nothing special. For these rates, it's easy to find a much better option in NYC.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz
1  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Hello Timothy M

Your feedback is a gift and I wanted to thank you for all the insights. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as we would have hoped for. We will use your feedback to help improve. The Bar was designed to mimic a speakeasy and that is why it is located in the basement behind an unmarked door.
We hope to have you back again sometime to try and change your thoughts on our property.

Safe Travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This is a top boutique hotel in NYC. Opposite the Public Library, right on busy 5th Avenue.The lobby is understated, reception is cool and typically ANDAZ. We had a loft suite on 13th floor, very comfortable and spacious. The bar in the cellar is huge and has a dedicated kitchen. Staff is friendly and helpful for all matters. Breakfast is " a la carte" only but plenty of choice and excellent coffee!
I have made a separate comment for the restaurant

Room tip: Our room 1313 if you are not superstitious! ( it was Halloween by the way...and we survived!)
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Hello Bernard G
Thank you so much for the great feedback and review. We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Safe Travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Over our wedding weekend, we needed a place centrally located (as much as we always attempt to avoid Midtown) and stumbled upon the Andaz. As is typical of the chain, the rooms are spacious, modern, and clean and almost more appealing than many 5-star establishments in the city. While one sacrifices the conveniences of a concierge and attentive staff, the hotel has numerous excellent amenities.

Our room, a king with a view, overlooked the New York Public Library and provided a quiet refuge in the middle of the bustling city below.

While it is considerably more expensive than the Andaz on Wall Street, if you need to be in the center of town, this hotel provides all the modern conveniences one expects of the Andaz chain in an excellent part of town (relative to midtown, of course).

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aspiring_tokaloshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

This hotel was in a great location as it was across the road from the famous library, and between a 5 and 15 minute walk from Times Square, Grand Central Station and the Empire State building. The rooms have free soft drinks and a coffee machine on request. The bathrooms are huge and have a foot bath which is absolute bliss at the end of a day exploring.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday-queen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Spent a long weekend in NYC and really enjoyed staying at Andaz, fanstastic rooms, service, complimentray coffee, tea, muffin all day, staffs were really helpful with directions, restaurants bookings. Will definitely stay here next time i am in new york!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jensen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews