We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hyatt Property”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Hyatt Property”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here for a weekend and I have to say this is an incredible property. Excellent location at the heart of Manhattan, with chic rooms and decor, and almost an entirely free mini bar (excluding alcohol). Every hotel I stay at is now compared to the Andaz on 5th. I will spring the extra monies next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDaniel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    514
    160
    60
    34
See reviews for
494
938
136
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

First time at this Hyatt property, as a Diamond HGP, received an upgraded suite... it was a massive hotel room... separate living room, sleeping area, hallway with with a lot of closets, and huge bathroom. Included a 'pantry' area with microwave, sink, near full size refrigerator (all items comp except for beer and liquor), and nepresso coffee machine. A few quirks though in this room... the light controls were 'touch pads' and aside from being senstive to the touch (turning lights on/off that we didn't want), the control pad for the bath room was in the hallway, which meant hunting down the halllway in the dark to find it, press it and peeking into the bathroom to find out if on or not (w/o bathing the sleeping area in light). Also, there is no door between the WC and the rest of the bathroom... so when one of us had to use the loo, the other had to leave the bathroom (did i mention that the bathroom is huge, so in theory, more than one person should be able to use at once). As a note, no newspaper is delivered to the room (which was odd as when i was walked to the room by someone from the staff, they asked me for my newspaper preference). Wonderful location if one wants to spend time in mid-town, which is exactly what we wanted to do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I thought I had walked into an Apple Store with the funky check in area! Fab service and loved the extra touch of a glass of wine during check in.

Loved the view of the library and being so close to Bryant Park. The service is great, and bathroom was wow. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Assumming luxury at its best. Upon checking into the lobby I was greeted as if I was a familar . I arrived approximately 1 hour or more prior to my check in time. The person staff person who greeted me was very apologetic that my one room suite was not yet available. He stated excitely that I would be very pleased with him because he had an upgrade for me. We were offered compliminatary beverages while we waited and someone appeared from nowhere to take our laugage.

The update was a two bedroom suite. Wowwwww!!!! I had a bedroom and full bath to myself. The bathroom; marble and glass and more marble and glass in all of the right places. The shower; water. . .water . . .everywhere. This place was well appointed I was travling with my two daughters for my eldest daughter's 13th birthday celebration. Every detailed was taken care of with class and style. From every angle there was a great view from the floor to ceiling windows. With all of this, I still felt like I was right at home but only with my own private staff 24/7 hours a day.

I am looking for an excuse to go back again. My youngest daughter stated that she did not want to go back because she stated that "nothing could match this".


Pricey but well worth it. This is my New City place to stay.

Room Tip: My sure that you have the address handy if you are taking a cab. I believe that this is a relativel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugusteTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Unfortunately this was a quick visit and we only spent one night at this Hyatt property, but it was perfect. The standard King room was small and cozy - typical for NYC, but the windows were huge and our room faced the library. Beautiful view. There are suites available, but the standard room suited us just fine. This is not your typical Hyatt-it is more like a boutiquE hotel. The whole property is VERY quiet, the staff is helpful yet subtle, the decor is soothing, sleek, modern and minimalistic. The Bar Downstairs was very hip and the food was delicious. The bathroom was very large-the best feature was the extra large shower. Tile and glass with foot bath, handheld shower and rain shower features! My only complaint, if it can even be called a complaint, is that the lighting in the bathroom was a bit too dim. This is by far one of the best Hyatt we have stayed at, and since we are Diamond members, we stay at a lot of Hyatts. A great choice if you want a change from the "big chain feel" of most Hyatts.

Room Tip: Ask for a library view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvOurBullDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,327 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $463 - $1,076
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing