We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“There might be better in NY but not to me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #69 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“There might be better in NY but not to me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at this great property for the second time in a year (lucky us!). I don't believe there is much better to my taste than the Andaz 5th Avenue. We already tried a few Ws, the NY Palace, the Grand Hyatt and some other places but to us, Andaz is the best of our world: Loft-type comfortable rooms with floor to top windows (stayed at a junior suite, that help), simple but top-end design (not as hype as W - which I still enjoy -neither too heavy like you would see in a St. Regis), comfortable rooms, great service, amazing location (right on the 5th but benefitting from the quietness of the 41st street), etc. As a diamond member we enjoyed the additional benefit (basically 75$ off the breakfast bill) without missing the lounge access of the Grand for one bit (the drinks are in any case available both at the lobby and in the room, and the food is anyway better in any New York restaurants). The staff is definitely one of the best I know: very professional but quite relaxed too, which I like. It's a good change from the arrogance you get at SLS and some Ws and the overwhelming assistance of some other luxury places. We had some minor laundry issues and Jefry was always very reactive and helpful to sort things out. So in short great property, great location, great comfort, great staff, try it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    494
    156
    55
    27
See reviews for
473
914
131
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

There are only three things that slightly annoyed me about this hotel:

1. The shower was very awkward to work. On the upside, you could fit 20 people in that shower.

2. I was using a verizon wireless phone while there, and you cannot get reception (okay, one bar) in the hotel.

3. No hot tub & no pool. Oh well.

Other than that, this place was great. We arrived in a shuttle, in the pouring rain...and immediately there was a guy with an umbrella covering myself, my wife, and our luggage until we were inside. From there on it was pretty full on awesome service. The location is directly across from the main NYC library and also a few pretty nice Japanese restaurants/grocery places. With times square two blocks away, it was perfect for sight-seeing.

It is DEAD quiet inside the rooms, the bed was one of the most comfortable my wife and I have ever slept on. I highly recommend this hotel, I just wish it were cheaper...but it is NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOFXmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The check-in was unusual but really cool - walk into the lobby and one of an amazing array of model-quality hosts will come up and greet you warmly, and check you in. Then they will accompany you to your room, making sure that you are comfortable with an array of eco-friendly aspects of the room.

Our room was huge, especially by NYC standards. Full of high-tech stuff, modern and sleek, yet comfortable and inviting. It was a bit of a challenge to get the lights turned on in the bathroom, but somehow we managed. The room was quiet - #1 priority for us.

We were there only for a short time, but it involved seeing a play on Broadway and a marriage. No big whoop. It started to rain just before we headed out to see the show, and umbrellas magically appeared, as well as practical advice about trying to get a cab at "that" time of day. Forget about it. Loved it – and they were right!

Next day we met a friend, had breakfast in the delightful restaurant, went and got married, then came back to a pleasant check-out and again, more staff who took a genuine interest in us and our stay.

I can't wait to come back to this hotel. While the hotel itself was first-rate, the staff made all the difference. Who knew people could be so nice, professional, and good-looking at the same time.
I recommend the Andaz highly to all who want to stay in a top-notch hotel and experience the warmth and pleasantness of a professional, smart staff who can make you feel like you’re staying with relatives (the good kind).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwkinatlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had been looking forward to staying here and was finally able to spend 2 nights in a Suite on the 16th Floor.

The GOOD:
Wonderful location (although it can be hard to find for first-timers, especially at night), very tasty breakfast, great bathroom (although the shower control is very tricky to use).

The BAD:
Breakfast service can be slow.

The UGLY:
Ineffective room blackout. My suite has a small balcony and the the shade is installed 24" away from the window, so there is light leakage coming from the sides. If you don't like lights coming in early morning, wear an eye mask.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

After a dreadful experience in our previous visit to New York, this time my husband and I decided to choose an hotel regardless to the price! We choose this hotel for its location, on the 5th avenue just in front of the Public Library. We stayed in an Extra Large View room at an high floor: the room was quiet, the view was outstanding and I liked very much the stylish design of the environments. We appreciated the gym and the complimentary WI-FI. The staff was helpful and attentive, even if they can improve in some details (for instance, on Sunday the room was not yet ready at 2 p.m.). Last but not least, we had a good lunch at the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CiccioSkeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,398 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#58 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $422 - $929
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing