We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A 'must do' - you will not be dissappointed!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway Up Close Walking Tours

Broadway Up Close Walking Tours
Ranked #14 of 573 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever wanted to know which Broadway theaters are haunted? Are you curious to know what a Broadway "swing" is? Have you ever heard about the ghost light? If so, then this tour is just for you! "The Great White Way" has always been a world full of mystery, tradition, history and spectacle. Now, you too can learn all there is to know about Broadway on our two hour tour. All of our guides are working theatre professionals and will share stories and anecdotes from Broadway!
Falkirk
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 'must do' - you will not be dissappointed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

A fantastic tour from a brilliant tour guide. Tim is not someone who has learned a bunch of facts then repeats them 'parrot fashion'. He is a working actor sharing his love and passion!! He knows his stuff ;) He will tell you about the history of the theatres and some incredibly interesting tales about the people who have owned, restored and worked in them, all whilst showing you the most beautiful buildings. The time flies by - even in the freezing cold! I would urge anyone to take this tour - you will not be dissappointed!! It was one of the highlights of our visit. Thanks Tim xxx

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, NY
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tony Award-Winning Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

What a wonderful way to learn about Broadway in the Big Apple!! My daughter and I took this tour while she was home from her college break, and this tour seemed a perfect way to spend mother-daughter time together. Tim, our fantastic tour guide, was friendly, witty and wonderfully charismatic while sharing lots of fun facts, history, anecdotes and a ghost story or two. Tim's passionate, expansive knowledge of the theater world - both on stage and off - certainly makes for one of the best NYC walking tours. This is a tour which every New Yorker or tourist, theater and non-theater goer should not miss and is for anyone who enjoys any aspect of theater or who just wants to learn more about the Great White Way. Absolutely worth the time and price of your ticket - one of the best acts on Broadway! Wish there was an Act II.
Thanks Tim and Broadway Up Close Walking Tours!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you want to know about Broadway!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This tour was fascinating, I thought I knew Broadway, but I learned so much more. There is so much history about Broadway that just made this tour the best ever…It is a must do on your next trip to New York City!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank girlscookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I took a trip to New York City with my Mom to experience the sights and sounds of Broadway. We discovered this tour and Trip Advisor and, because I love theatre history and buildings so much, we decided to take the tour. We lucked out , since the weather was beautiful for Decemeber!

Tim, our tour guide, knows his stuff! He had so mant interesting stories about the theatres and history of the industry in New York City. I love hearing the many ghost stoires and the many crazy characters who graced the stage in New York. Tim was very sweet and enthusiastic about theatre. It was fun talking about out favorite shows!
I highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT TO BE MISSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My friends and I took this tour Nov 18 and had the best time. Tim the tour guide was awesome. So friendly, funny and most of all informative. The guy really knows his stuff. I have been to NY many times and to the theaters often but never knew all the hidden stories behind them. I will now look at them in a whole new and exciting way. You can't go wrong taking this tour. If you love Broadway do yourself a favour and sign up for a tour next time you are in town. And take it even if you live there.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway Up Close Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Up Close Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing