We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary ”

The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum
Ranked #3 of 1,138 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Through commemoration, exhibitions and educational programs, The National September 11 Memorial & Museum, a nonprofit in New York City, remembers and honors the 2,983 people killed in the horrific attacks of September 11, 2001, and February 26, 1993, as well as those who risked their lives to save others and all who demonstrated extraordinary compassion in the aftermath of the attacks.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is an extraordinary museum. The attention to detail and underlying thought to design and setting is amazing. Sympathetic in honouring all involved. A reminder, that even in tragedy, there will be good people doing their best.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nellibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"who lost their lives"
in 3,741 reviews
"beautiful tribute"
in 1,198 reviews
"twin towers"
in 2,495 reviews
"moving tribute"
in 972 reviews
"loved ones"
in 1,052 reviews
"new york"
in 5,897 reviews
"first responders"
in 757 reviews
"fitting tribute"
in 1,209 reviews
"emotional experience"
in 1,294 reviews
"survivor tree"
in 610 reviews
"guided tour"
in 1,641 reviews
"visiting nyc"
in 688 reviews
"the world trade center"
in 578 reviews
"freedom tower"
in 764 reviews
"victims"
in 4,649 reviews
"names"
in 5,340 reviews
"tragedy"
in 3,413 reviews
Filter

5,338 - 5,342 of 85,582 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I was a little worried the memorial would be done in a way that wold leave me devastated the rest of the day, but that was not the case.
Extremely well done and I am planning on returning when I visit NY again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank TTU_TRAVEL_FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

My wife and I visited the 9/11 Museum and were blown away by the quality of the experience. It was clearly well-planned and the items on display were thorough, well-organized, and in some cases quite emotional. I suppose it was more meaningful for us because we live within line of sight of what were the Twin Towers, but I can't imagine anyone not being moved by the exhibits. I would also consider it to be an excellent learning experience for older children. We strongly recommend taking the guided walking tour and buy your tickets ahead of time to avoid waiting in the long lines. The only thing that was disappointing to hear was the fact that the overwhelming majority of visitors are foreigners and US visitors from outside the tri-state area. So if you're a "local", get out and go. You won't regret it!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The 9/11 memorial is very well done. Depending on the time you have to spend, you can visit the outdoor fountains and grounds. It is very moving.

Doing the museum takes about 1 - 1 1/2 hours. It is built right over the site of the twin towers so you get to see some remnants of the stairs, footers, etc. If you don't have time to do the museum, don't miss the grounds.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank skipowdersandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Spent half a day here with children who don’t remember the events. Educational and moving to see the scale of what happened and a closer insight into the historical day with stories from people involved. Hard not to effected emotionally.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank martynl752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing