We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable home base in NYC”
A Garden in Chelsea.
Quiet residential neighborhood w/ convenient transit/walking options.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Garden in Chelsea.
Quiet residential neighborhood w/ convenient transit/walking options.
Garden King-size bed set-up option
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
A Garden in Chelsea.
Quiet residential neighborhood w/ convenient transit/walking options.
Garden
King-size bed set-up option
Twin beds set-up option
Kitchen
Dine
Library
Hallway Entry
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Preparing for Halloween
The prettiest tree on the block
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stella048
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable home base in NYC”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 5 nights with our two adult offspring in the 2nd floor apartment which was extremely comfortable and quiet. Woke to the sound of birds each morning and the view of trees and similar brownstone buildings. A few days prior to our arrival our host Karen, sent an email with transfer and entry information. When we arrived she greeted us and showed us around and answered all our questions. She is very welcoming and made herself accessible during our stay if we needed it. She is clearly a passionate advocate for life in this great city. We had all the amenities we expected (and more, milk in the fridge, tea and coffee, cereals for breakfast, cooking condiments, extra towels and bedding) and directions and contact details to nearby markets/laundry/restaurants/subway/buses were all thoughtfully provided in written form. The location is perfect for exploring NYC and we set off each day for a different locale after a hearty breakfast in one of the many nearby cafes or diners. The apartment gave us a taste of living a little more like a local and getting to understand what makes NYC such a fascinating place, beyond the sightseeing! Thoroughly recommend A Garden in Chelsea and am hoping we can make a return visit sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celestego...
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The experiencia of living like a New Yorker for a few days”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We are a couple with a teenager daughter. We stayed two weeks in the apartment of the third floor which is fully equiped and confortable.
The neighbourhood is very nice, typical of old New York. Fantastic location for walking to Greenwich Village, Soho and Midtown.
The experience is very different from staying at a hotel. The place is warm and cozy, the owners open the doors of their home and make you feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiGi12320...
Shoreline, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location and historic charm”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very accommodating innkeeper. Charming apartment although the stairs were steep. Appreciated the innkeeper's assistance delivering luggage to the third floor apartment. Location is perfect for midtown activities.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly B
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful stay in Chelsea garden apartment”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful apartments, perfect location and amazing hosts. Karen and her husband were amazing. We were greeted out front , luggage carried in, information about the area provided and even set up a ride to the airport for us. We couldn't have asked for more. My daughter and I had the garden apartment which was wonderful. We ate breakfast in the garden a couple mornings. My other family were in a 3rd floor apartment which was equally as nice. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden was a beautiful place to sit and drink a glass of wine.
Liked least: wifi in basement not so good -better in the garden or out front.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian Rober...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great vacation”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect location for our stay in New York. Because it is a quiet residential street we were not confronted by the hustle and bustle of the city as soon as we stepped out of our front door. Conversely we were close to the centre of the city. 2 stops on the subway (which is only a three minute walk away) and we were at 42nd Street with a two minute walk to Times Square or the Theatre District. The apartment itself is extremely comfortable and secure. The garden at the back is a lovely place to sit and take in what you have seen in this wonderful city during the day. The local amenities are plentiful and very near at hand. Karen was a caring and friendly host who kept the property immaculately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location location location
Liked least: Nothing. It was wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 325
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing