We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West 46th Street Apartment
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed at this apartment in Nov and it was god damn awful

There are no lifts upto the apartments,the hand rails on the stairs are loose and very shakey .
the apartment itself was small and dingy .
The worse thing of all was how cold the apartment all we had was one small electric heater which kept cutting out due to the poor electricity supply in the room .it was that bad it took most of us girl almost an hour to dry our hairs in the morning as the power wasnt strong enough to power our hair dryers .

On the last night of our stay our toilet was over flowing with water and when i called the number provided it was answered by a very poor speaking gentleman so trying to convey our problem to him was very difficult .
when we finally managed to explain our problem he came over then told us to just use the toilet in the apartment next door which was far from convienient in the middle of the night .

There was also a rule that no loud music was to be played after 11pm yet despite this the people in the next door apartment had a party on the Saturday evening with people coming and going well into the early hours.

I have mailed them twice since my return to the Uk asking for compensation but both my emails to them have not been answered so if that is how they run a business it really does say it all ...take your money then when problems occur they do nothing to rectify it but i wil not be lettig this lie and will be taking further action unless they contact me with an amicable arrangement soon .

Avoid like the plague .

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2014

We stayed in 336 West 46th Street. This whole building is a fire hazard and should be shut down. Exposed wires everywhere, no covers on outlets, air conditioning still in window (this is November), windows did not lock and there are no fire escapes. Heat was electric space heaters. If there were a fire anywhere in this building there is no escape route displayed. There are large gaps at the bottom of doors, very drafty. Television didn't work, all furniture was heavily stained, including the futon which is used as a bed. If the shower was running, the toilet didn't flush. There was one hand towel and one face cloth to be used for 4 people. The towels that we did have were soiled and stained. The railings in stairways leading to rooms were falling apart and very hazardous. Don't believe the professional pictures that are shown on hotel sights, they are a deceitful lie. The only good thing about this place is the location.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This place was dingy and decrepit and depressing. It was drafty with use of space heaters for heat. There were loose wires and cords throughout making it an electrical fire hazard. Needs we're not met when toilet paper, towels pillows were requested. Linens and towels were stained and dirty appearing. Railings on stairs were about to fall off.
Linda F.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliePortland_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Having rented West 46th St Apartment for 5 nights in Sept 2014, there were multiple challenges but it actually worked out rather well.
Pictures on do not represent the apartment we ended up with. Very difficult to talk with off site manager as he was hard to understand, never answered his phone (but always called back within 2 hrs). We showed up at 46th St address but after calling manager, we had to take another taxi to a 51st St Apartment with only one bedroom, not two as advertised. However, location was even better - just 2 blocks from Broadway and close to multiple subway stations. Apartment was not ready - cleaning lady let us in and then it took her 3 hrs to clean - and even then had to bring back sheets at 9PM that evening. This is an old 1932 building and we had to walk up 3 floors of stairs.
Since there was only 3 of us, the one bedroom did work out OK. Very small but WiFi and TV and AC all worked great. Kitchen very tiny. No comfortable chairs anywhere but we didn't spend much time here.
Cost wise - a bit confusing - $335/night ($415 with fees) was advertised price but with caveat that more charges could occur. Well - they did - we ended up paying about $500/night.

Room Tip: I would probably not rent again due to confusion over just about everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VisaliaVisalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

After a series of delays on booking we decided to book West 46th Street Appointments and in our haste we neglected to look at the reviews

If we'd have gone off reviews alone we wouldn't have booked these appointments, but while it is far from perfect the reality isn't as bad as the 1* and 2* reviewers make out

PROS
The location is nigh on perfect for New York and less than 5 minutes walk from Times Square and right in the centre of the restaurant / bar district

Due to this we found getting around to other areas of the city very easy and used Yellow Cabs to further out areas which didn't cost the earth

Also the wifi worked absolutely fine for the whole 8 days we were there and compared to some UK WiFi options the apartments wifi was at the speedier end of the market. We had emailed a week before about Wifi being essential for work so this may have had something to do with it

The weather was warm throughout our stay so had no problems with heating - in fact I slept on the top of the bed and didn't need a duvet

CONS
The stairs are very steep to get to the top of the apartments - we're healthy mid 30s men and found it tiring to climb after a day sightseeing

The locks for the doors worked, but were hard to open and close

The bath did have a stain on the bottom of it which was acceptable enough for showering, but wouldn't have felt comfortable bathing in it. Shower was strong and warm enough

There was a lot of dust around the bathroom despite a cleaner in the apartment when we arrived.

Although this may be standard for apartments over hotels - we didn't have a cleaner changing bed sheets for the 8 days we were there


WOULD I STAY AGAIN?
As a central location the apartments work in the summer and although I would have preferred a hotel - the apartments suited our stay

I would stay in warmer months, but wouldn't visit in the Winter due to other reviews

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank altrinchamhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 470 in New York City
7,390 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#137 of 470 in New York City
11,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,804 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West 46th Street Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West 46th Street Apartment

Address: 334 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your West 46th Street Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West 46th Street Apartment Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing