We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
1
12
15
4
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
12
15
4
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2014

This place was dingy and decrepit and depressing. It was drafty with use of space heaters for heat. There were loose wires and cords throughout making it an electrical fire hazard. Needs we're not met when toilet paper, towels pillows were requested. Linens and towels were stained and dirty appearing. Railings on stairs were about to fall off.
Linda F.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliePortland_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Having rented West 46th St Apartment for 5 nights in Sept 2014, there were multiple challenges but it actually worked out rather well.
Pictures on do not represent the apartment we ended up with. Very difficult to talk with off site manager as he was hard to understand, never answered his phone (but always called back within 2 hrs). We showed up at 46th St address but after calling manager, we had to take another taxi to a 51st St Apartment with only one bedroom, not two as advertised. However, location was even better - just 2 blocks from Broadway and close to multiple subway stations. Apartment was not ready - cleaning lady let us in and then it took her 3 hrs to clean - and even then had to bring back sheets at 9PM that evening. This is an old 1932 building and we had to walk up 3 floors of stairs.
Since there was only 3 of us, the one bedroom did work out OK. Very small but WiFi and TV and AC all worked great. Kitchen very tiny. No comfortable chairs anywhere but we didn't spend much time here.
Cost wise - a bit confusing - $335/night ($415 with fees) was advertised price but with caveat that more charges could occur. Well - they did - we ended up paying about $500/night.

Room Tip: I would probably not rent again due to confusion over just about everything.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank VisaliaVisalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

After a series of delays on booking we decided to book West 46th Street Appointments and in our haste we neglected to look at the reviews

If we'd have gone off reviews alone we wouldn't have booked these appointments, but while it is far from perfect the reality isn't as bad as the 1* and 2* reviewers make out

PROS
The location is nigh on perfect for New York and less than 5 minutes walk from Times Square and right in the centre of the restaurant / bar district

Due to this we found getting around to other areas of the city very easy and used Yellow Cabs to further out areas which didn't cost the earth

Also the wifi worked absolutely fine for the whole 8 days we were there and compared to some UK WiFi options the apartments wifi was at the speedier end of the market. We had emailed a week before about Wifi being essential for work so this may have had something to do with it

The weather was warm throughout our stay so had no problems with heating - in fact I slept on the top of the bed and didn't need a duvet

CONS
The stairs are very steep to get to the top of the apartments - we're healthy mid 30s men and found it tiring to climb after a day sightseeing

The locks for the doors worked, but were hard to open and close

The bath did have a stain on the bottom of it which was acceptable enough for showering, but wouldn't have felt comfortable bathing in it. Shower was strong and warm enough

There was a lot of dust around the bathroom despite a cleaner in the apartment when we arrived.

Although this may be standard for apartments over hotels - we didn't have a cleaner changing bed sheets for the 8 days we were there

WOULD I STAY AGAIN?
As a central location the apartments work in the summer and although I would have preferred a hotel - the apartments suited our stay

I would stay in warmer months, but wouldn't visit in the Winter due to other reviews

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank altrinchamhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

To be honest the apartment was a little dingy, having said that my family and I stayed there for a week in apartment 3R there were a few issues that were resolved quite quickly but did take us nagging at staff to get issues sorted. we did request an extra heater which was provided and the apartment felt very cosy, we did have to put a towel at bottom of the door due to gap. The bed was extremely comfortable and my twins 17 were quite happy on the put up futons in the room.It is a shame that the management don't put some finishing touches to the apartment like just hanging the pictures up and maybe net curtains as we'll so you can actually open the curtains and have daylight in
So the good points
Great location for Time Square and Empire State Building Central Park and the theatres are all within a short walking distance the subway to downtown New York is also located in Times Square where you can take the R train or no 1 train to 9/11 memorial or Battery Park for the Statue of Liberty cost each way is approximately $2.50 you just buy a metro card at the subway station
On the next block which is right at the traffic lights up from the apt on west 45th street you will find an awesome restaurant called Juniors famous for its cheesecakes but the food is Devine ! The famous Katz deli is located downtown on East Euston again you can get the sub to there again cost 2.50$ if you get yellow cab they charged us 20$ to get there but we caught the subway back
If you want to go to a broadway show get your ticket on the day from the ticket office by at the back of the red steps in time square they are discounted by upto 50 % having said that on a Saturday queues start early in aft
If you are getting a cab from the airport at Newark get a yellow cab the cost with toll charges should be around 75$ Don't let the guys in the airport sway you that happened to us and cost us 30$ more

Room Tip: Room 3R was spacious
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Biggest mistake of my life ever staying here. It was expensive, and I did not feel at all safe. I moved out early. The manager was off site, and unhelpful. Locks on the front doors don't work, large gap under the doors meant the apartment was like an ice box. The window on the lower level had been broken, and was patched up with cardboard. Sparks flew out of electric sockets. Wifi only worked occasionally.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank sue-Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews