We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #53 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

5 night stay at the Distrikt and it exceeded our expectations. Located near so many attractions and amenities with great transport links nearby. Terrific sized room (top floor 32) for a city with a great view across part of the city and some of the Hudson River. Clean, comfortable and a fantastic bathroom with a powerful shower.

Room provided everything we needed with an easy to use Coffee maker and a handy docking station alarm clock.

The Apple Macs in the lobby proved useful when booking attractions, staff happy to allow printouts for tickets and the hotel wide Wi-Fi was so useful in planning a day.

We had breakfast twice at the hotel and the food was delicious. The bar was also used to good effect with a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

The small touches were excellent, chocolates, papers and the lobby refreshments.

Yet the most impressive thing about the Distrikt is the wonderful staff. Friendly, helpful and attentive. Couldn't do enough to make our stay in NYC a great experience. If we come back to the city, we'd definitely make it to the Distrikt.

Room Tip: Upper floors get fantastic city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macdonsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience! We are thrilled that our team positively impacted your stay and that our little touches made your time with us even more special. We do hope you will return to New York City and look forward to welcoming you back to Distrikt in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,177
    1,169
    216
    26
    14
See reviews for
873
2,345
215
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Location is great, no concerns at all about the area. Highline is a 10-15 min walk away and is must. Subway is only 1 min walk towards Times Square. Lovely room, very clean, turned down every day with tea and coffee replenished. Staff are great, got locked out of our safe one day and they sorted an engineer straight away who fixed it in 5 mins, could not have asked for more. Sky room a couple of doors down is worth a visit, great views. Trip was a 40th birthday present for my husband, we got a lovely birthday message and cheesecake delivered to the room, nice touch! Hopefully back soon for another visit, we had an amazing time, thanks Distrikt!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I arrived on 31 March for a 3 night stay with my 11 year old son. We had an excellent stay at the hotel, staff were friendly and very helpfull. I asked for a kettle to boil water over and above the coffee maker supplied in the room, which was no problem for them. The room was well presented and laid out, pracitcal as well as stylish, which is something a lot of so called boutique hotels forget - putting style over substance. For example the room safe is big enough to take a 17" laptop, ipod docking on the alarm clock, bath robe supplied, good quality toiletries that I kept and used instead of the others supplied at other hotels on my trip and other nice touches in the room. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from Times Square and the theatre district, next to the bus station, so easy to get to and for the subway as well. 15 minutes walk to USS Intrepid as well (worth a visit).
One thing stopped me giving 5/5. Breakfast on the first morning was OK, nothing special or bad. We went again on the 2nd day, ordered a cooked breakfast at 8am with only about 10 other diners there, most of whom were having the continental buffet. Come 8.20 I asked the waiter where the food was, he said it was coming. 8.30 nothing, so I cancelled as I had a bus to catch at 8.45 and a 10 minute walk to get to it. I was assured by reception staff later in the day I would not be charged for it and they were very apologetic. Luckily NYC is not somewhere you will go hungry and there are plenty of places to get food 24hrs. 3rd day we ate elsewhere, I don't do second chances!
Baring the one glitch with the food this was a great place to stay, not cheap but good value, but nowhere that's any good in NYC is cheap. I will return when in NYC next.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view (and the more you pay)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeveew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Chose this hotel on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed, great location, really nicely appointed room, staff could not have been more helpful, and a surprise left in our room with a hand written note to congratulate us on our anniversary. Really could not fault the place, will stay there again whenever I get the chance. Great location for Broadway and for exploring Manhatten.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Nothing is better than living up to the expectations of our Trip Advisor guests! Thank you for recognizing the team, and for allowing us to be part of your special celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My friend surprised me by paying extra to get us a better room, but she still got an unbelievable discount on this amazing hotel. I didn't quite believe it would be as in on the action as advertised, but it really is a couple of blocks from Times Square, right in the middle of everything! The staff were just amazing, so lovely and helpful. There are 3 apple macs in the lobby which have skype (very useful) and I have to say I loved the complimentary coffee and iced tea available every day in the lobby. Felt very safe, very secure, and just lovely to come back to after a day of exploring the city. There really werent any downfalls to this hotel (except maybe if you paid full price), the staff were very knowledgable about the city and made every effort to help anyway they could, loved it!!

Room Tip: Most had a fab view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimeejaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you so very much for your review, we are truly grateful that we were able to wow you on your trip! We will definitely share your generous comments with our team, and they will be thrilled to read how they made your experience a better one! We do hope a future trip to New York is planned and that Distrikt can be part of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#77 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#63 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): $205 - $639
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing