We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect hotel for our NYC trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #136 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect hotel for our NYC trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited NYC for a girls' shopping trip over April break, and Staybridge Suites was the perfect hotel for our group! The hotel was clean and stylish, and we always felt very safe and comfortable. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful! The hotel is centrally located near Times Square, and we enjoyed a short walk to the shops, restaurants and Rockefeller Plaza.

Upon arriving at the Staybridge, we were pleasantly surprised by the evening reception - wine, beer, pop, chips, mini quiches and various hot appetizers - fantastic! We relaxed in the comfortable, spacious hotel lounge by the fireplace. This area also served as the morning breakfast room where we enjoyed eggs, sausage, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee - the perfect start to each day. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose Staybridge Suites for future trips to New York City.

Room Tip: We requested a lower floor to avoid long waits for the elevator; stairs were always an option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLiz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Staybridge Suites as your hotel of choice. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to make your stay just that much more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next NYC trip!!

Best Wishes Staybridge Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,930
    1,882
    422
    74
    34
See reviews for
1,632
1,999
215
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just wanted to say what a beautiful Hotel the Staybridge Inn on Times Square is!! Our room had a wonderful view, and was always very clean. Easy access to entire city! Great breakfast, and happy hour during the week. And hats off to Jamie, Eddie. and Elliott for making our stay even more enjoyable.T hey were very friendly, and were very helpful and lots of fun!!! Your entire staff was great. Would recommend HIGHLY!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 32nd floor and the vew was great!!! North Side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a great 6 nights for our family of four. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast busy but fine and yes the lifts can take a few mins when busy but did not bother us. Within a couple of mins walk you're in the middle of many of the main sites. Tue to Thu you even get a free buffet and drinks. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMorgans100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Århus, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

You don't come to NYC to sleep! But a good hotel is important when the family has been running around the city all day long. The location close to 40th and 8th is convenient for all the main attractions that the city has to offer. Less than 5 minutes to Times Square and a 15 minute jog to and from Central Park. The hotel is located behind the central bus station and this does mean that there are some interesting characters on the street, but by and large, this was not an issue. The lobby is somewhat small and congested for a hotel of this size but the helpful staff do their best to relieve the congestion. The communal breakfast is a bit of a bunfight but we always managed to find a table for the family. The concierge is also very helpful assisting with booking restaurants, cars and attractions but she was not completely au fait with the details of booking a trip to Ellis Island. The free afternoon snacks, beers or soft drinks was a great boon. The rooms are not overly dimensioned but this is NYC! The beds were somewhat soft for our tastes but we slept fine. The rooms also benefited from ironing boards, fridge/freezer and washing machines. Beware that the rooms are not well soundproofed and many conversations and all energetic activity are subject to a public audience in the lobby! The main drawback concerns the lifts which are simply not adequate for a hotel of this size. We stayed on the 13th floor and were forced to use the stairs virtually every day. The longest wait was over 10 minutes at peak time. All in all we were very content with the Staybridge and are happy to recommend the hotel for a family break in NYC.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room on the 10th floor or above. Otherwise you will be staring directly int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear RobHod,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel location as well as your room accommodations. We are deeply sorry you had to wait so long for the elevators. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Staybridge just after the Easter weekend and whilst I can't fault our 2 rooms (a King and a twin queen) for space and cleanliness the hotel struggled with the number of visitors at this peak time.

With over 30 floors of rooms the 3 elevators really struggled at peak times and the wait from the top floors was considerable.

The included breakfast buffet was the usual Staybridge offering, however every morning the buffet area was over capacity even with the use of the bar for additional seating. Additionally half of the buffet seating is at low lounge like tables and chairs which are not really suitable for eating at.

You could make up a tray to take back to your room but then by the time you had waited for the elevator and been squashed inside I am not sure how appetising your breakfast would be.

Location is a couple of blocks from Times Square and you do have to walk past the parole office but I didn't feel any more vulnerable than on other streets. The bus station is opposite and you can access the subway from there so it is very convenient.

Would I stay here again, yes but not on a peak holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear CB23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Despite the challenges you faced I was pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#197 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#56 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,728 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#249 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $204 - $518
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing