We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #133 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nipawin, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife, my mother-in-law and I stayed at this fine hotel for 4 nights. It was a perfect stay! Most other reviewers have summed up the positives and negatives. My two cents... we stayed on the top floor and never waited more than 2 minutes for an elevator, going up or down. Seating at breakfast, we went before 8:00 and never had a problem. The full size fridge was awesome to have and was not loud! Never felt unsafe around the hotel. Staff was very friendly! One last thing, the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on!!

Room Tip: Broadway tickets are cheaper right from their box office! We went in the morning and got front row t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pensfan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,048
    1,953
    441
    75
    37
See reviews for
1,720
2,055
225
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was going to NYC on business and wanted a nice room to relax in at the end of the day, The room was very comfortable and roomy, with a full kitchen, (fridge with ice maker!), and while the bathroom was a bit small, it was well laid out with everything one needed. The staff was courteous and helpful, and there was a free hot breakfast everyday! Walking distance to great restaurants and Times Square! And it was priced comparably to hotels without these great features! Enjoyed our stay and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavonneLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

So we arrive at the hotel at 9am to be told that a room should be come available shortly the guy at the desk could see we were clearly tired as we had been up all night on an uncomfortable flight. We had booked a 4 night stay

So we go for a walk come back and ask the same guy at front desk how is it looking.. He completely changes his tune and tell us "look you will just have to wait! Check in time is 4pm anything before that is just a bonus." meanwhile he is prouncing around front desk and mucking around with other members of staff not showing any form of service to what was originally stated. I am writing this as my first review even though I haven't formally checked in but already be ready for particular staff members change of heart at the drop of a hat. I will follow up with a full review once we have completed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakeyboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Blakeyboy88,

Thank you for writing your review. Your comments have been documented.
I apologize for the experience you had at the front desk. Our check in time is 4 PM
If you are a Priority Club member, one of your benefits would be an early check in
if available. I am sorry early check in was not available when you came in.
Once again thank you for the review.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed for 4 nights over half term and had a great time. Had room on 26th floor with a view and worth paying extra for this if you can. I emailed hotel directly to arrange this before travelling so worth doing this. Don't be put off by the slow lifts in the morning or busy breakfast times, both of these facts are true but it had no impact on our holiday and were minor points which did not detract that it is a great hotel and we would use it again without question. Hotel concierge we found to be extremely helpful and professional at all times. Make sure you are well rested before you come to NY as we walked miles each day and went home exhausted after trying to do it all which you can't! A super hotel and had a great experience, well done Staybridge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here, the location is great, especially if you are flying in from Newark airport as the Port Authority opposite has a very convient shuttle bus operating every 15 minutes. Also as other reviewers have mentioned it is very close to Times Square.

The free breakfast was busy but quite comprehensive and the staff worked tirelessly keeping it well stocked and nicely presented for all the guests. The same can be said for the midweek canapé reception which was a lovely bonus.

If I ever need to return to New York I would not hesitate to stay here again!!


  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skystar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#64 of 468 in New York City
5,019 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#266 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Property: Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): $248 - $541
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing